Skip to main content
Kutztown University

  Rohrbach Library

  • Omnisearch
  • LibGuides
  • Databases
  • Journal Title Search
  • Library Catalog

Today’s Hours:  

Copyright and Fair Use: Image Sources

Information on copyright law and fair use in an academic setting. This guide is based on guide at http://library.ship.edu/copyright. Used with permission.

Image Sources from Rohrbach Library

Free Image Sites

While these sites are "copyright friendly," be sure to check the Terms of Use for details.  For example, many photos require attribution.

American Memory, Image sources
The American Memory project, from the Library of Congress, offers a plethora of copyright-free resources you can link to.

Copyright Friendly Image Sources  

Corbis

Creative Commons  

Every Stock Photo  
"We are a search engine for free photos. These come from many sources and are license-specific."

Flickr Creative Commons  
Search or browse Flickr images by license type.

Getty Images

Google Images  

Image*After  

New York Public Library Digital Collection  

Pics4Learning  "Permission has been granted for teachers and students to use all of the images donated to the Pics4Learning collection." Arranged by subject.

Smithsonian Institution Archive Collection  

The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. Please cite the Smithsonian Institution Archives as the source of the content, and when possible, link to the Smithsonian Archives website (siarchives.si.edu). 

Stock.xchng  

Stockvault.net  

Wikimedia Commons   "A database of 5,220,649 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute."

Yale Digital Commons  "It is Yale University’s goal to make digital copies of unrestricted public domain collections available for use without limitations. Yale University will not restrict use of items digitized from its museums, libraries and archives collections which have been made openly available through the University’s electronic interfaces, and which are no longer under copyright, except where other rights or restrictions apply."