Rohrbach Library's Articles & Databases link to a vast online library of credible, well-organized information.
General Databases
One SearchThis link opens in a new windowA unified, customized index of Kutztown University’s information resources. Essentially allows the researcher to search almost all of the library's databases with one search.
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 11,000 full-text periodicals.
Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowResearch Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology with 2,600 active Research Library sources-- over 1,700 are available in full text. Over 1,600, in full image. Coverage 1971 to the present.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
Music Databases
Music Index OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThe Music Index Online, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Coverage spans from 1975 to the present and contains surveyed data from over 800 music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.Cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Global Music ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowThe Global Music Archive is a multimedia reference archive and resource center providing access to sound recordings and images related to indigenous music from communities in Africa and the Americas.
Naxos Music LibraryThis link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 112,310 CDs with more than 1,649,400 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others, and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.
Oxford's Grove Music OnlineThis link opens in a new windowGrove Music Online is an excellent compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition, The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Musicians well as all subsequent updates and emendations. Includes over 60,000 signed articles and 28,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.
Newspapers
New York Times, HistoricalThis link opens in a new windowThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. Coverage 1851 to current with 3-year rolling embargo.
Washington PostAccess digital edition of the Washington Post newspaper. Breaking news and analysis on politics, business, world and national events, entertainment, and more. Coverage 2005-current. Students have to create an account.
