Skip to Main Content

COMP 200 - Morris

Finding newspaper articles using the library website

Newspaper databases tend to include only articles written by journalists, including obituaries, and op-ed pieces written by invitation.  The databases will not include advertisements, classifieds, or letter to the editor.

Academic Search Ultimate, ProQuest Research Library, and the ARTICLES search box all allow you to limit your search to News or Newspapers.

On the Popular Databases page, in the center column, there is a box for the NEWSPAPER databases.  Newsbank is the library's largest database.  This is an international database, and has long ranges of back issues of many local and regional US newspapers, even papers that have ceased publication.  

New York Times

How to login or create your account:

  1. From a web browser (Activation via mobile apps is not yet supported), go to nytimes.com, click Login in the top right corner, scroll down and click select “Continue with work or school single sign-on” at the bottom of the login page.
  2. A pop-up will open, prompting you to enter your Kutztown email address. You will then be redirected to KU's Single Sign On login page for to authenticate.

Note:

  • Student passes last up until 12/31 of the year they graduate.
  • Faculty/Staff - must renew their pass once every four years by visiting the library link above, click on "Already have an account?" and login.

What's Included:

Full text access to articles from 1851 - Current.

Access to NYT app

Complete details here.

Washington Post

How to login or create your account:

  1. From a web browser, go to https://www.washingtonpost.com/, click Sign In at the top right corner, scroll down and click select “Continue with SSO” at the bottom of the login page then enter your KU email address.
  2. You will then be redirected to KU's Single Sign On login page to authenticate.

 

What's Included:

Access to content from 2006 - current on washingtonpost.com website

Access to WP Archive 1877 - 2005 (with account)

Access to WP app (with account)

Complete details here.

Wall Street Journal

How to access:

  1. Sign up for your access at the library's registration link here: https://library.kutztown.edu/wsjdigital
  2. Once you create your account simply go to wsj.com and login using your new credentials.

What's included:

Full access back 4 years.

Access to WSJ app

Complete details here.