Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

WRI 211 - Journalism: Statistics

Resources for journalism majors

Statistics Online

Berks County Data Book Berks County demographics, housing, land use and development, economics, government and community facilities.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Easy entry into the full range of economic data and analysis produced by BLS. Find the statistics and reports on employment and unemployment, price (such as the Consumer Price Index) living conditions, compensation, productivity, and much more. From the U.S. Department of Labor. (LII)

CensusScope A useful tool for investigating US demographic trends presented as graphics and maps.

Data - Statistics/Research Methods Sources for data compiled by the Association for Institutional Research.

Economic Statistics Briefing Room Provided by the White House. Visitors can peruse sections that offer information on income, output, transportation, and prices. Drawing on the research and statistical databases of several dozen federal agencies (including the National Agricultural Statistics Services), visitors can view tables and charts that offer such timely material as crude oil prices, poverty rates, and household wealth. Within each section, visitors can view summary statistics, and then if they wish, they can proceed to the homepage of the agency that provided each set of information. (ISP)

EconStats Provides access to a "... range of economic data from the United States, such as information about inflation, unemployment levels, productivity, new factory orders, and the price of crude oil. The homepage also contains links to economic data from Canada, Britain, Germany, the European Union, France, Italy, Russia, and China." (ISP)

Environmental Quality Statistics This site provides access to the statistical tables that appear in "Part III. Environmental Data and Trends" of Environmental Quality, the annual report of the Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ).

Fedstats Statistical information from more than 100 government agencies organized in a subject-based A-Z Index. There's a search engine that currently covers 70 agencies. Also organized by Agencies, Programs, and Regional Statistics (federal agencies that provide state, county and local area data).(LII)

Historical Statistical Abstracts Site presents editions of the annual U.S. Census Bureau publication, from the document's inception in 1878 to the present.

International Statistical Agencies A list of links compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau to the national agencies for statistics for many countries throughout the world.

Official Statistics on the Web This site offers a collection collection of links to free, official statistics resources. Links are organized by country, region and topic.

Pennsylvania State Data Center The Pennsylvania State Data Center is a cooperative program between Pennsylvania and the U.S. Census Bureau.

Pennsylvania Department of Health: Bureau of Health Statistics and Research Create customized data tables, charts, maps and county assessments/profiles of birth, death, cancer, behavioral risk, and population statistics. 

Pennsylvania Historical Census

PollingReport.com Online presence of The Polling Report , a bi-monthly "independent survey of trends affecting elections, government, and business." The Web site is updated whenever a new poll is released, which means almost daily. Includes Gallup, Harris, Yankelovich, Princeton Survey Research Associates, network news polls, more. Main categories are Politics and Policy; Business / Economy; American Scene; Insights; and National Barometer; with an extensive table of contents. Searchable. (LII)

Statistical Abstract of the United States Complete volumes from nearly all years from 1878 to the present. Also features statistics in brief, state rankings, and tables of data on specific ethnic groups.(LII)

Statistical Data Sets
A wide range of data sources with a listing of the downloadable format.

Statistical Resources on the Web Annotated directory of websites providing statistics on agriculture, business, housing, labor, science, transportation, and other topics. Maintained by the University of Michigan.(LII)

United Nations Statistical Division Contains links to many resources of global statistical information some available without fee.

U.S. Census Bureau The most comprehensive for current U.S. demographic data. Includes the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments. There are links to U.S., state, and international statistical resources. (LII)