Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

BIO 270 Research Methods: Online Databases for Biology

The primary guide to the library services and resources available to Biology majors

Online Database for Biology

Online Databases for Biology

If you know the title of the database, under OPTIONS in the Omnisearch box, you can use the ARTICLES & DATABASES link. Use the Alphabetical list on the right.

Full Text (articles attached) resources:

  • Science Direct 
    • Journals, and ebooks from Elsevier Scientific Publishing.
    • Most are in full-text
  • BioOne 
    • 100% full text.

    • Journals from scientific associations and non-commercial publishers.

    • Focus on biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
    • Especially good for research in entomology, ornithology, and herpetology.

Citation databases (more titles, less full-text):

  • Web of Science  
    • Also called Science Citation Index.
    • Articles are linked through bibliographies.
    • Citations going back to early 1950's.
    • Premier science database at KU. 
    • Use Interlibrary Loan for articles.
  • Biological Abstracts
  • PubMed  - Index from the National Library of Medicine, this includes citations to biomedical information dating as far back as the  1950's .

Other databases to consider:

  • JSTOR 
    • Use Advanced.
    • Select from 234 Biological Sciences journals, most of which are in full-text.
  • Agricola 
    • U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
    • Very broad definition of "Agriculture"
    • Excellent source for U.S. Government-sponsored information 
    • The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, etc.
  • GreenFILE
    • Ecology and Environmental Science Journals and Magazines
    • Most citations have full-text of article included.
    • EBSCO search engine
    • Search along with BioAbstracts ny using "Choose Database" link.

 

 

Is this journal legitimate?

In the last 5-7 years, scholarly publishing has been plagued by explosive growth of bogus scientific journals, sometimes called "predatory journals." 

Library databases will screen out these fake journals for you, but if you are picking something from the public internet, you need to add an extra step to your research.  You need to make sure the article you are looking at comes from a genuine peer-reviewed journal.  

There is a library database called Cabell's Blacklist that lists predatory journals.

https://www2-cabells-com.proxy-kutztown.klnpa.org/blacklist

Use the ADVANCED SEARCH  to look for keywords. The basic search on the homepage is currently not working well.

 

 

Online Databases for Secondary Ed/Biology

When researching teaching methods or biology for secondary education students, start with:

Education source is an EBSCO database so you can "Choose Databases" and combine it with BioAbstracts if you need content.

ERIC is the database from the Dept. of Education. It includes journal articles and reports from all recipients of a DOE grant