Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
Check out the following links for book lists, book reviews, and other useful information about children's literature.
(If you try to get into CLCD, Picture Book Database, Something About the Author Online, or Literary Criticism Online from off campus, you will need to authenticate as a KU student by logging in with your KU network ID and password.)
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database – The Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is a fantastic database of children's literature titles hundreds of thousands of reviews and records for children’s books–all full text searchable!
- Records compile reviews from over 30 review sources sources including The ALAN Review,
Booklist, Books for Keeps, The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, Canadian Children’s
Book News, CCBC Choices, Children’s Literature, KIRKUS Reviews, Resource Links, Science
Books and Films, and VOYA.
- MackinVia - Access children's ebooks and audiobooks through KU.
- Something About the Author Online - This is a great place to find out about the authors and their works. The official description reads, "Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals."
- Literary Criticism Online - Our online access to this database includes access to Children's Literature Review, an important reference source for children's literature criticism and author information. The official description: "Online access to ten multi-volume compilations of literary criticism including: Contemporary literary criticism; Twentieth-century literary criticism; Nineteenth-century literature criticism; Shakespearean criticism; Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800; Classical and medieval literature criticism; Poetry criticism; Short story criticism; Drama criticism; and Children’s literature review. LCO covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres; it offers tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays."
WEBSITES FOR IDENTIFYING GOOD BOOKS BY THEME/SUBJECT:
- ALA/ALSC - This website offers a variety of lists for books for various age groups, including ones on diversity and tough issues.There are also other child-related resources of interest to education majors and a link to their yearly Notable Books lists.
- The Best Children's Books - This website lists books by grade and by topic.
- Carol Hurst’s Children’s Literature Site - This site contains book lists for various topics. Some reviews are also included. It's a good starting place, but some of the lists are dated.
- Children’s Book Council Reading Lists - This helpful site contains a wide variety of reading lists for teachers and librarians to use, including ones for social studies and science trade books.
- National teacher associations, textbook publishers, and children's literature research centers also have great recommendations for books in certain disciplines:
- Booktalks from scholastic - This site has booktalks and video booktalks to use with your PK-12 students.
- Database for Award-Winning Children's Literature - Search through thousands of books to create reading lists tailored to your students' interests.
- KidLit TV - "KLTV is available in over 600,000 schools worldwide via our website and video distribution partners. We’re a diverse group of parents, educators, librarians, kid lit creators, and award-winning filmmakers working together to create fun new ways to reinforce an appreciation of reading that children will carry with them for the rest of their lives."
- Nancy Keane's Children's Literature Webpage & Booktalks Quick and Simple - Nancy Keane provides educators with a great collection of booktalks and other resources.
- Pinterest - YES, Pinterest! Don't overlook this site. Many teachers and librarians are using it to post text sets, mentor texts, and other children's literature lists. Check over their titles, then go find reviews to see if it is a book you want to include in your own list. Example: Children's Literature on Pinterest
- Read, Wonder, and Learn! Favorite Authors & Illustrators Share Resources for Learning Anywhere--Spring 2020 by Kate Messner: like the title says, authors and illustrators sharing books and talents.
- Scholastic Book Wizard - Enter your book to find the book level in both interest level and reading level. You can also tell it to find similar books...a great way to build that text set!