Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For pandemic-related information on library services during Spring 2021 go to our COVID 19 guide
Folklore and Fairy Tales
Locating the stories in Rohrbach Library
- In our children's literature collection (Library Science Collection), stories can be found at Dewey Decimal number 398.2+
- In our Curriculum Materials Center, information about folklore and storytelling mostly can be found at Library of Congress call numbers that start with GR, LB1575-1576, and PN
- Some stories might also be located in the Main Collection or online
- Use the online catalog or ask a librarian for assistance to find particular titles
About Children's Literature and traditional tales
There are several books about children's literature on the CMC shelves at LB1575.5. I recommend looking at Charlotte Huck's book Children's Literature at LB1575.5.U6H79 2010. Chapter 6 covers traditional literature, including folktales, fables, myths, hero tales, etc.
Journals, Database, and Website Links
- Database searching:
- Literature Resource Center Database is a valuable tool for researching information about fairy tales and folklore
- JSTOR also has many articles that will help your research:
- When starting at Omnnisearch on Rohrbach's website, you will get several articles, videos and encyclopedia articles (such as: Research Starter) when you search for "Fairy Tales"
- Several specific journals to check out:
- Marvels & Tales: Journal of Fairy Tale Studies: Marvels & Tales is a peer-reviewed journal that is international and multidisciplinary in orientation. The journal publishes scholarly work dealing with the fairy tale in any of its diverse manifestations and contexts.
- The Journal of Folklore Research: The Journal of Folklore Research is an international forum for current theory and research among scholars of traditional culture. Its pages include incisive examinations of vernacular or traditional expressive forms, as well as essays that address the fieldwork experience and the intellectual history of folklore and ethnomusicology studies.
- Journal of American Folklore: The Journal of American Folklore is a quarterly journal publishing scholarly articles, essays, notes, and commentaries on all areas of folklore and folk life. Although emphasis is given to American folk culture, materials on folklore from anywhere in the world are also selected.
- Streaming Video
- KU has several options for streaming video:
- One example from Kanopy that might be of particular interst is:
Fairy-Tale Heroines--New-Style Princesses: Cinderella. Snow White. Rapunzel. These fairy-tale heroines are imbued in our cultural consciousness. What lessons are they meant to teach? And do these lessons align with our current cultural values? Study the composite fairy-tale heroine, both in the classic fairy tales and in modern revisions from authors such as Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood.
Teaching with Folklore and Fairy Tales
Here are some helpful resources for teaching ABOUT or teaching WITH folktales: