Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

HIS 261: Searching for articles

A guide to library resources for Professor Saidi's HIS 261 class.

Searching for articles

If you are looking for articles from newspapers and magazines:

America's Newspaper Collection - A collection of newspapers from North America and the world.  Includes 194 newspapers from Africa.

Lexis-Nexis. Excellent resource for news, business, legal, or medical information. It provides full-text of many newspapers worldwide as well as access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals, court cases. Includes many newspapers from anglophone Africa, The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, BBC, and Al Jazeera.

Proquest Research Library - A collection of magazines and journals in a variety of subject areas.  Articles from The Economist are found here.

If you are looking for articles from peer-reviewed journals:

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO). Historical Abstracts indexes the world's periodical literature in history and the related social sciences and humanities. The database corresponds to the two companion publications: Historical Abstracts: Part A, Modern History Abstracts (1450-1914) and Historical Abstracts: Part B, Twentieth Century Abstracts (1914 to the Present), produced by ABC-CLIO. Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered by America: History and Life.

JSTOR. Scholarly journals in many disciplines.  No articles from the most recent issues.

Project Muse Project Muse offers nearly 200 quality journal titles and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Updated as issues are published.

**New - search most library resources (including books and e-books) with EBSCO Discovery Search**


The Library subscribes to over 90 electronic databases providing students access to thousands of articles, many in full-text format. Requires KU ID card and registration to access from off-campus. Most records can be printed or emailed. See specific database for more information or ask a Reference Librarian for help. Below is a list of useful databases for your research.

To access the databases:

  • Go to library home page http://www.kutztown.edu/library

  • Under the heading Find Information click on “Articles and Databases”

  • Select “History” in the drop-down menu and click submit to get to the list of appropriate databases. OR

  • If you already know the name of the database you’d like to use, click on the appropriate letter to use the alphabetical list of databases.