Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

HIS 261: Searching for books

A guide to library resources for Professor Saidi's HIS 261 class.

Searching for books

 

Searching for Monographs

Rohrbach Library Catalog. The library’s online catalog provides access to books, journal titles (both print and electronic), microforms, audiovisual materials, and all other formats owned by the library. Users can search the database by author, title, subject, and keyword.

Finding Books – Using Call Numbers: Items in the Main Collection at Rohrbach Library may have Dewey Decimal or Library of Congress (LC) call numbers. History books are located in two areas in the library:

Dewey books – 900s – located on second floor

LC books – D (History: General and Old World) and E & F United States and North American history.

ebrary: The ebrary Academic Complete collection includes over 46,000 e-books in sixteen broad academic subject areas. Books are available in full-text pdf format. Includes titles from more than 200 publishers.

 

WorldCat: The most comprehensive and up-to-date bibliographic resource available. This resource contains 49,000,000+ bibliographic records for audio-visual materials, books, maps, musical scores, newspapers, periodicals and more. If you find an item in this catalog you must then check the Rohrbach Library Catalog to see if KU owns the item, or use UBorrow or E-ZBorrow.

Google Book: Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search.