It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
EDU 101: Journal Articles
A Libguide to help students locate information for a journal article review and an educational theories paper
From your list of results, you might have a variety of formats including only an abstract (if you didn’t limit your search to full-text only), PDF Full Text, or HTML Full Text.
PDF’s are images of the actual journal article as if you were looking in the journal itself.
HTML means that someone typed or scanned in the information into a computer format - images and charts may have been omitted.
Don’t forget to check for citation information!
ALSO: When printing a PDF, use the print icon that appears in the Adobe Reader window rather than “File” and “Print.”
To see the abstract (article summary) in your results list, change the settings in the "page options" dropdown menu at the top of the list.
Always click on "check for full text" when it appears. We might have the article in another database, and clicking will check that option.
If we still don't have it, consider using interlibrary loan. For many articles, you will have the digital article sent to your e-mail within 48 hours or less!
Researching with articles
Being successful in this course will require that you are able to locate a journal article, read it, and either write a review of it or use it for an assignment. Please refer to your syllabus for specific information (limitations, due dates, etc.) regarding your assignments.
"Scholarly Articles": Sometimes professors will require you to use only "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" sources in your assignments. The chart linked below explains what this means. (Hint: If you can buy it at Weis or Barnes and Noble, it is NOT a scholarly source.)
Location Articles: There are two main ways that you can find online journal articles related to your topic for your assignments.
General keyword searching: In this method, you search a variety of journals or databases (such as Education Source--linked below) at the same time using keywords. This is also the type of searching you do on the Library's homepage in the Omnisearch box.
Remember to use your Boolean terms (AND, OR, and NOT) to create the best search string of keywords.
Searching a particular journal: In this method, you can look up a particular journal in the online catalog and search just that source. This is particularly helpful when your professor gives you the citation for an article to find or if you get the names of journals that work well for an assignment. Searching by journal title allows you to browse through the journal by going into each issue/volume to see the articles available, or to search within that journal title in a database.
If you know the title of a journal, such as Science and Children, The Kappan, or Educational Leadership, you can find the journals in the Library's online catalog by doing a “Journal Title Search” and typing in the title of the journal. If we have that title either in print or through an online database, you will get a list of where to find the journal. Clicking on the link to get to a journal we have electronically through a database will take you directly into that database and to that journal title to further complete your search.
HINT: Many teacher associations, such as NCSS for social studies teachers or the ILA (International Literacy Association), have their journals/publications described on their websites. Check out these sites to find a good journal title to search.
Education SourceEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Want better search results? When you use Boolean searching as an alternative to straight keyword searching, you use the words AND, OR, and NOT to limit and broaden your search. You can use parentheses to help organize your terms as well.
Try the following site for a nice visual explanations of Boolean searching: