For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
**New - search most library resources (including books and e-books) with EBSCO Discovery Search**
The Library subscribes to over 90 electronic databases providing students access to thousands of articles, many in full-text format. Requires KU ID card and registration to access from off-campus. Most records can be printed or emailed. See specific database for more information or ask a Reference Librarian for help. Below is a list of useful databases for your research.
To access the databases:
Go to library home page http://www.kutztown.edu/library
Under the heading Find Information click on “Articles and Databases”
Select “History” in the drop-down menu and click submit to get to the list of appropriate databases. OR
If you already know the name of the database you’d like to use, click on the appropriate letter to use the alphabetical list of databases.
General Resources – interdisciplinary
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) Excellent multidisciplinary resource. Provides full-text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full-text for nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 50 years. Includes a lot of titles in PDF format.
Can search by keyword, author, title, subject.
EBSCOhost defaults to Boolean phrase searching. If your search contains more than two words you need to connect them with an AND, OR, NOT operator. Example: george washington and (emancipation OR free*) and slaves
Advanced Search option allows you to further limit your search to Publication type (e.g. Primary Source Document) and/or Document type (e.g. book review).p>
Check Availability feature checks to see if article is available in another database.
Folder feature allows you to organize your results.
Research Library. (ProQuest) Excellent multidisciplinary resource includes full-text of many scholarly journals. Always good to check as coverage is different than Academic Search Premier. Search same as Academic Search Premier.
JSTOR – Arts & Science Collections. Excellent historical research database includes full-text coverage of scholarly journals some dating back over 100 years, topics include: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries.
· Does not include most recent journals, lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated continually.
· Consider doing a title search as you will get more relevant results (JSTOR defaults to keyword searching).
· Articles are all in pdf and often very long, must be patient with printing.
Lexis-Nexis. Excellent resource for news, business, legal, or medical information. It provides full-text of many newspapers worldwide as well as access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals, court cases. Includes the full-text of the New York Times and Allentown Morning Call newspapers (recent issues).
Oxford Islamic Studies Online: brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. Encompasses over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: Accessed via Web of Science, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to over 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
America: History and Life (EBSCO) Contains citations to articles from over 2,000 historical journals on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present day. The electronic version contains all citations included in the print version of this title, which indexes articles published since 1954. Some of the citations have links to the full text of electronic journals or articles located in journal databases such as Project Muse and JSTOR. Users can search the database by either keyword or subject and can limit searches in a variety of ways including date, journal title, language, and publication type.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO). Historical Abstracts indexes the world's periodical literature in history and the related social sciences and humanities. The database corresponds to the two companion publications: Historical Abstracts: Part A, Modern History Abstracts (1450-1914) and Historical Abstracts: Part B, Twentieth Century Abstracts (1914 to the Present), produced by ABC-CLIO. Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered by America: History and Life.
Project Muse Project Muse offers nearly 200 quality journal titles and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Updated as issues are published.
Print Journal Subscriptions
The following list is a selection of some history periodicals to which we currently subscribe. Current issues can be found in the current periodicals area, back issues are located in the periodical stacks.
Colonial Latin American Historical Review: CLAHR.
Historical Review of Berks County
Journal of Medieval History
Journal of South Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography
Prologue: The Journal of the National Archives.
William and Mary Quarterly
The Rohrbach Library subscribes to 90+ databases of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.
To view a list of databases sorted by subject: http://library.kutztown.edu/sb.php
To view an alphabetical list of databases: http://library.kutztown.edu/az.php
To view the library's most popular databases: http://library.kutztown.edu/populardatabases
Some databases you may find useful for this class: