Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

COM 010 - Ironside: Finding Articles

Research Guide for COM 010

WHERE DO I BEGIN......

Databases for Magazine and Journal Articles

 

Databases to use when you are looking for TOPICS:​

  1. CQ Researcher
    • Excellent source of information for both informative and persuasive speeches 
    • Congressional Quarterly (CQ) publishes 20-page reports on 50 different topics each year
    • Topics include current social issues, political questions, and current events. 
    • If you are looking for a topic for a speech, this is a great place to start, just use BROWSE DATES!
  2. Biography in Context 
    • Short and long biographies about persons living and dead
    • Includes vetted websites, journal articles, newspaper articles, magazines
    • Most have links to actual sources.

Databases to use when you are looking for Scholarly Articles:​

  1. Omnisearch 
    • On the library homepage 
    • Full-text
    • EBSCO search engine for almost all the library databases
    • Use your most specific search first: Keywords, Personal Names, or Titles.
  2. Academic Search Complete 
    • EBSCO database.
    • All disciplines
    • Research articles, magazine articles, major newspapers and  ebooks included
    • About 80% full-text
  3. Research Library 
    • ProQuest database
    • All disciplines
    • Research articles, magazine articles, major newspapers, and  ebooks included.
    • Magazines, newspapers, and journals on all subjects. 
    • Strength in business, commerce, medicine and health
    • Check both Research Library and Academic Search Complete -- search algorithms are different

 

More databases at:  http://library.kutztown.edu/az.php