Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
Using Library Databases - Find an essay in a peer-reviewed journal that makes an interpretive claim you disagree with.
The following is a list of library databases in which you will find articles from peer-reviewed journals. I suggest using Advanced Search and the author's full name and the title of the work you are researching in your initial searches. Here is an example:
JSTOR JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
MLA Bibliography The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, provides access to scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore covering nearly 4,000 journals and series. Updated ten times per year.
Coverage 1963 to the present.
Research Library Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology with 2,600 active Research Library sources-- over 1,700 are available in full text. Over 1,600, in full image. Coverage 1971 to the present.