Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

ENG 236 - Black American Literature: Poetry and Drama - Dr. Blaque: Literature Databases

Literature Databases

Literary Criticism Resources:

JSTOR - is a database of SCHOLARLY ARTICLES ONLY, most of which are in full text.  There are 1,436 literature journals in this database.

Project Muse - is also an excellent source of SCHOLARLY ARTICLES in literature.

MLA Bibliography - published by the Modern Language Association guides you to SCHOLARLY research in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore covering nearly 4,000 journals.

Literature Criticism Online a database that contains tens of thousands of essays and criticisms on fiction, poetry and drama covering authors and playwrights from 1400 to the present. Strengths include Poetry, Short Story, and Drama Criticism collections.

Literature Resource Center complements Literature Criticism Online providing shorter leterary essays and biographical information.

More resources are listed on the Articles and Database page, under the Subjects Listing for LITERATURE.

Primary Source Material:

The American Drama database, the English Drama database, and Twentieth Centry Drama database provide the actual scripts of hundereds of plays.