Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
WHERE DO I BEGIN? SEARCHING THE LITERATURE
Library Homepage: http://www.kutztown.edu/library
Use the OMNISEARCH search box on the homepage if you have a very specific topic, title, or author and you want to know how much information is available.
For specific online databases, use the Articles and Databases link in the Omnisearch box.
ONLINE DATABASES for Environmental Sciences
Start with these:
- Web of Science (Science Citation Index) Citations only, so you will have to use ILL. This database uses the bibliographies from articles to tracks and connect research. Coverage is very good.
- JSTOR Database includes only Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed journals, most of which are in full-text.
Move on to these:
- Envirofacts EPA databases on Air, Chemicals, Facility Information, Grants/Funding, Hazardous Waste, Risk Management Plans, Superfund, Toxic Releases, Water Permits, Drinking Water.
GeoRef KU's most complete geology database.Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef contains over 2.2 million records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. It includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
GreenFile Collection of scholarly, government and general interest journals and magazines on globarl warming, green builidng, pollution of all kinds, sustainable, renewable energy, recycling, among others. Includes almost 400,000 citations with 4,700 in full-text.
Science Direct KU subscribes to the College Edition, the Health and Life Sciences Collection. All the journals in this database are only in SCIENCE DIRECT, and they are all in full text.
Electronic books can be found by searching the Library's Catalog. If the book is in electronic copy, you will see a link or URL at the top of the record. When you click on the link, you will be connected to the electronic copy on your screen.
Examples of Electronic Reference Books:
Librarian: Sue Czerny
Comment & questions are welcomed by...
Information Commons Librarian
RL 100-A Rohrbach Library