For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
Kanopy Streaming Service Provides access to over 26,000 videos from major educational film producers and distributors in a wide variety of subject areas. Collections include the Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC Active, California Newsreel, Green Planet Films, First Run Features, Kino Lorber Edu, Learning Zone Express, Media Education Foundation, Symptom Media, and PsychoTherapy.net.
Films on Demand Films on Demand includes over 30,000 streamed videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, The News Hour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Educational, and many more. Create a personal account to save to Playlists or Favorites. Links to individual videos or segments can be emailed or posted in D2L.
The two collections linked above offer an amazing array of tens of thousands of informative documentaries and other films.
An example is linked below.
A Killer Bargain
This hard-hitting documentary’s title refers to the availability of cheap consumer goods, imported by Western companies, whose prices don’t reflect the actual human and environmental costs associated with their production in the developing world. Consumers remain largely unaware of the conditions under which the goods we buy are produced; this film makes those connections shockingly clear. While some retailers and manufacturers refuse to talk to the filmmakers, workers, doctors and scientists testify eloquently to the tremendous human costs of globalization.
The film takes as a case study the production of textiles in northern India, from the growing of cotton, through the dyeing of cloth to its final sale as towels and sheets in European and American stores. A Danish company, Cheminova, produces much of the pesticide used in the Punjab; while it saves crops from insects, however, these pesticides are known to cause cancer and have long been banned throughout the West.
A wealth of relevant sources—academic books & films—is easily available to you. But if you use such sources it must be in addition to, not instead of, the three sources specified in your assignment.
Always take care to understand what's being asked of you. In the case of this assignment:
"Both of the articles must come from peer-reviewed, academic journals, and neither may be a book-review or a short “reply to” another theorist. One of the articles must come from a peer-reviewed philosophy journal. The bibliography must also include at least one article that has been assigned in the course.
"...One of the articles must come from a peer-reviewed philosophy journal. The other may come from an academic journal from a different discipline."
Those are the minimal requirements. Regardless of other types of sources that you might consult, you must be certain to cover the above.
Environmental Ethics by
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
The second edition of Environmental Ethics combines a strong theoretical foundation with applications to some of the most pressing environmental problems. Through a mix of classic and new essays, it discusses applied issues such as pollution, climate change, animal rights, biodiversity, and sustainability. Roughly half of the selections are original essays new to this edition.
- Accessible introduction for beginners, including important established essays and new essays commissioned especially for the volume
- Roughly half of the selections are original essays new to this edition, including an entirely new chapter on Pollution and climate change and a new section on Sustainability
- Includes new material on ethical theory as a grounding for understanding the ethical dimensions of the environment, our interactions with it, and our place in it
- The text incorporates helpful pedagogy, including extensive editorial material, cases, and study questions
- Includes key information on recent developments in the field
- Presents a carefully selected set of readings designed to progressively move the reader to competency in subject comprehension and essay writing