It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ER Roundup - What's new with RL's E-Resources: 2021-22
Annual roundup of changes to library's e-resource collections.
Library upgraded to the 2021 edition of Access World News. The upgrade includes over 700+ new sources, including expanded international content and image editions. It also includes access to the Black Life in America database.
Included as part of our 2021 Newsbank upgrade.. Black Life in America offers comprehensive coverage of the African American experience sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. This collection offers a separate interface set with a unique algorithm to pull up relevant results and “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.
Customized digital library of mostly popular ebook and audiobook titles although OD has aggressively moved into the academic market adding many academic publishers. Liaisons can use their allocations to purchase titles on OD.
We added the Elsevier Ebook EBA to our ScienceDirect platform. It includes access to over 4,000 eBook titles for 12-Months from 2016 to 2020 Frontlist. DRM-free, unlimited simultaneous users, no print or download restrictions. One reason we did this was because of PQ ebook central Elsevier title removal (see below).
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African HistoryCovers the entire range and sweep of African history, from the earliest stone tool–using hominids to the most recent religious movements, or from new interpretations of the Mau Mau movement in Kenya to recent reconsideration of the Rwanda genocide and its aftermath.
Oxford Scholarship OnlineOxford Scholarship Online provides access to over 16,000 academic eBooks from Oxford University Press containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of biology; business and management; economics and finance; history; law; linguistics; literature; mathematics; music; philosophy; political science; public health and epidemiology; social work.
Used year-end tech fee funds to secure permanent access to the complete PBS collection on Academic Video through 2023. Will include apx 1500 videos when complete. Library has lifetime ownership access. No more PBS titles disappearing.
Clarivate purchased ProQuest. This will definitely have an impact on our resources and services. Some recent developments:
Elsevier pulled all content from PQ ebook central because of Clarivate acquisition. Elsevier views Clarivate as a direct competitor (Scopus and WoS). This removal includes over 8,000 ebooks.
Clarivate owns the license for BioAbs. We currently get this via EBSCO. EBSCO informed me that this is likely to change in the future and be offered through PQ.
OverDrive purchased Kanopy. Not sure what impact this will have. Learned the following:
Business to continue "as normal" for both services.
OverDrive said that eventually customers will be able to license Kanopy titles via the OverDrive marketplace and they will appear on the OverDrive platform - no timeline provided.
The following resources were not renewed:
GVRL Flex-It program (EBA program that provided access to apx 1,000 Gale imprint titles)