Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

COM 340 - Communication Research and Writing: APA format

APA Format

The Purdue OWL is a nationally recognized online guide to APA style. It covers most of the situations you're likely to encounter. 

Resources to help you out with APA

Typing and formatting your paper

Additional Resources for APA format

Here are some additional resources for using APA format:

YouTube has a wealth of podcasts on setting up the title page, abstract, main  paper, and reference lists in APA format:

Writing definitions:

Here is the link to writing definitions for a research paper: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/622/01/

 

 

In APA References, Cite Journal Titles and Articles

When citing a source in APA format, make sure you cite the TITLE of the Journal, Newspaper or Magazine in the bibliography. You should not cite the Vendor, in this example, EBSCO, nor should you cite the Database, such as Communication and Mass Media Complete.

Click on the link below for more information:

Get in the habit of collecting information about your sources as you use them.  The library's article databases will supply what you need for your citations, and many of the databases have features for formatting and saving citations as well.

Citing your sources is an essential part of your work as a member of a scholarly community.  Whenever you're unsure about the protocol and can't find a satisfactory answer on your own, ask at the Information Desk for a librarian!

DOIs

Doi : stands for Digital Object Identifier.  APA format used DOIs in place of web addresses in citations. 

How do I find the DOI for an article?

1) First, the first page of the article may have a DOI.  A DOI is identified as such on the first page; i.e.,

  DOI: 10.1016/j.anireprosci.2006.12.005   

2) DOIs are often included in database records.  Thus, if you are searching a library database like Academic Search Premier or Research Library, if a DOI is assigned to an article, you will find in the database record for that article.

>3) DOIs may also be found in the bibliography of an article – as authors are now using DOIs as a citation tool.  If you find a DOI in a bibliography and want to find the actual article (or at least further citation information), you need to use a DOI resolver (see http://dx.doi.org/).