Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

Evaluating News Stories: Library Resources -

Fake news is a complex and growing problem for anyone doing research. This guide accompanies Dr. Johnson's COM 10 class

WHERE DO I BEGIN......

Databases for Magazine and Journal Articles

 

Start with the most specific search  and get broader until you have a set of titles that will work for you.


CQ Researcher reports on 50 different social, political, and current issues every year.  If you can find a report on your topic, it is a gateway to a large number of credible sources, all with links to the original articles.

Biography in context from GALE Research contains biographies of famous persons, living and dead.  The biographies can be journal articles, audio, video, newspapers, magainzes and websites.

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO. Almost all the entries in this database have the article attached, which means it is a "full-text" database.  Also, it is part of the EBSCOHost interface, so you can use MY EBSCO to save the citations.  If you don't know about MY EBSCO, you should check it out and set up and account. 

Research Library from Proquest, like Academic Search Complete, is a database that has magazines, newspapers, and journals on all subjects. Proquest uses a difference search algorithm, so always check this one too.

JSTOR is the library's largest resource that has only scholarly articles. It contains hundreds of journals on education and may be a good source of statistics or research you can use to argue your point of view.

 

More databases at:  http://library.kutztown.edu/az.php

Getting research help at the library

If you are looking to find some assistance, and want to consult a librarian,

the quickest way to reach us is through the CHAT box on the right side of the library homepage:  library.kutztown.edu

here is the link to the KU Library's Research Services:

https://library.kutztown.edu/researchservices

Sue Czerny

Sue Czerny's picture
Sue Czerny
Contact:
RL 203-A
czerny@kutztown.edu
610-683-4174