It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 145: Finding Articles
Library resources for Professor Hartman's ENG 145: The Fairy Tale class.
Omnisearch - search all library databases - books, articles, multimedia
OmnisearchA unified, customized index of Kutztown University’s information resources. Essentially allows the researcher to search all of KU's most popular databases using the EBSCOhost interface.
Other Article Databases
Academic Search UltimateComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 11,000 full-text periodicals.
ProQuest Research LibraryResearch Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology with 2,600 active Research Library sources-- over 1,700 are available in full text. Over 1,600, in full image. Coverage 1971 to the present.
JSTORJSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
MLA BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, provides access to scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore covering nearly 4,000 journals and series. Updated ten times per year.
Coverage 1963 to the present.
Literature Criticism OnlineLiterature Criticism Online includes the complete full-image text of 10 of Gale publishing's most popular literary criticism series. These series represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. They include centuries of analysis — the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals — delivered in an easy format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Literary Criticism Online includes hundreds of digitized volumes and more than 200,000 essays extending back 20-30 years. Coverage: 1400 - Current
This database compliments Gale's Literature Resource Center which contains Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, as well as criticism. Ten individual Gale series comprise Literature Criticism Online, representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works, across all regions, eras and genres:
Contemporary Literary Criticism — covers authors currently active or who died after Dec. 31, 1999
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism — covers major authors of 1900-1999
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism — covers major authors of 1800-1899
Shakespearean Criticism — comprehensive coverage of Shakespeare
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 — covers authors of the late-middle ages, the renaissance and the restoration eras
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism — covers major classical and medieval authors
Poetry Criticism — covers poets of all eras
Short Story Criticism — covers major authors of short fiction
Drama Criticism — covers major dramatists of all eras
Children’s Literature Review — covers the most influentialauthors of children’s literature
Communication SourceCommunication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
PsycINFOPsycINFO contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Coverage 1887 to the present.
Women and Social Movements in the United StatesWomen and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women.s activism in public life. Coverage: 1600 to 2000
Gender Studies DatabaseGender Studies Database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
America History and Life with Full TextAmerica: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextCriminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Updated quarterly.
Coverage 1968 to the present.
Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Databases by Subject
Click here to view the library databases by subject.