Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
The easiest way to find the list of databases from the library homepage is to go to the white menu bar under the maroon banner, select FIND INFORMATION and then select DATABASES A-Z
On the DATABASES A-Z page, in the ALL SUBJECTS box, select "Music"
The two databases that work best for this project are:
Music Index Online The Music Index Online, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Coverage spans from 1975 to the present and contains surveyed data from over 800 music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.Cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Oxford's Grove Music Online Grove Music Online is an excellent compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition, The Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Musicians well as all subsequent updates and emendations. Includes over 60,000 signed articles and 28,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.
JSTOR JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
- WIth JSTOR, use the ADVANCED SEARCH, and scroll down on that page and select EDUCATION and MUSIC journals
Music Education Databases
While you will find some information in the Music Index on teaching music, a much richer source for teaching music in the K-12 schools can be found under the ALL SUBJECTS box, on the DATABASES A-Z page by selecting EDUCATION. The two largest databases are:
Education Source Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC Educational Resource Information Center is a major resource for research in all areas of education. ERIC contains over 1,000,000 references and abstracts, it annually indexes articles from over 800 journals as well as 13,000 documents (conference papers, research reports, state, federal, and local education documents, selected books, etc.) Produced by the US Department of Education. Coverage 1966 - Current