Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

MAR 210: Library resources in the Marine Sciences: Online Databases for Marine Sciences

This course guide is designed for the students in Dr. Ryan's MAR 210, Sophomore Seminar Class

Online Database for Marine Science

Online Databases for Marine Science

 

Full Text (articles attached) resources:

  • Science Direct 
    • Journals, and ebooks from Elsevier Scientific Publishing.
    • Most are in full-text.
  • GreenFile
    • Ecology and Environmental Sciences database
    • Full-text database
    • Can be searched along with BioAbstracs
  • BioOne 
    • 100% full text.
    • Journals from scientific associations and non-commercial publishers.
    • Focus on biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
    • Especially good for research in entomology, ornithology, and herpetology.

Citation databases (more titles, less full-text):


Other databases to consider:

  • JSTOR 
    • Use Advanced Search. under the search box on the homepage.
    • Select from 234 Biological Sciences journals, most of which are in full-text.
    • On the homepage, scroll down and select the disciplines you need to search and add other filters before you do your search
  • Agricola 
    • U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
    • Very broad definition of "Agriculture"
    • Excellent source for U.S. government-sponsored information 
    • The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, etc.
  • Dissertations and Theses - Doctoral dissertations and Masters Theses from US schools dating back to late 1800's.

Your Librarian

Sue Czerny's picture
Sue Czerny
Contact:
RL 203-A
czerny@kutztown.edu
610-683-4174