Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
Below are listed some of the library databases you can use to find information and statistics about places:
General Databases for Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles and Magazine & Newspaper Articles:
Academic Search Ultimate Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 11,000 full-text periodicals.
ProQuest Research Library Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology with 2,600 active Research Library sources-- over 1,700 are available in full text. Over 1,600, in full image. Coverage 1971 to the present.
JSTOR JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
Social Sciences Citation Index Social Sciences Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science®, provides users with access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings. Includes essential data from over 1,950 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines, as well as 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage: 1900 - Current
Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities Library The Social Sciences & Humanities Library provides access to over 1,400 journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines.
Specialty Databases: Business and Legal Information:
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
HeinOnline HeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception, and much more!
In addition to company and industry profiles, business magazines and journals and lots of statistics, Business Source includes journals and trade publications for the tourism and hospitality industries which you may find helpful
Databases for Information on Countries:
CIA World Factbook The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.