Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

AST 30 -- Mission to the Planets (2019) with Dr. Kraal: Searching - the Big Picture

Library Catalog

Link to the Library Homepage

Finds

  • Books
  • E-Books
  • Streaming Video

Does not find

  • Journal Articles

Databases - Periodical Articles

Why use a database and not OmniSearch?

  • It contains fewer types of items.  It has mostly articles and reports.
  • It is has a more focused search
    • Some databases are subject specific
    • Most databases have index terms

Benefits of Searching Library Resources

  • More items are on the college level and for college research
  • Search results can be quickly limited to... 
    • Peer reviewed (Scholarly) articles
    • a specific date or range of dates
    • Full-text 
  • Provides Citation information for a variety of guides (APA, Chicago, MLA, etc)

OmniSearch

Link to OmniSearch

Pros

  • Searches almost everything we own
  • One stop shopping
  • Good for finding a needle in a hay stack
  • Provides citations for items found

Cons

  • Results can be overwhelming
  • Subject words are not uniform across databases
  • Finds many non-scholarly works
  • Finds more off-topic information