Web Resources:
IDEA – International Dialects of English Archive
Omniglot - a comprehensive guide to writing systems and languages
The Linguist List – information on language and language analysis
I Love Languages – comprehensive catalog of language related internet resources
E-books:
Labov, W., Ash, S., & Boberg, C. (2006). The atlas of North American English: Phonetics, phonology, and sound change: A multimedia reference tool. (Electronic version).
This book consists of a survey of dialectal pronunciation in urban North American, based on acoustic measurements from phone interviews conducted across U.S and Canadian cities in the 1990s. The atlas maps ongoing sound changes, shifts in vowel systems and documents how phonetic patterns are constantly changing and evolving.
Wolfram, W., & Schilling (Schilling‑Estes), N. (2016). American English: Dialects and variation (3rd ed.; enhancements & exercises by C. Myrick & J. Schneier). Wiley‑Blackwell.
This textbook explores regional, social, and ethnic variations of American English, addressing how dialects come to be, change, and interact with the “standards” of the English language. It includes external multimedia sources to raise awareness around linguistic diversity.
ProQuest Ebook Central - Reader American English Dialect American English / Walt Wolfram and Natalie Schilling ; enhancements and exercises by Caroline Myrick and Joel Schneier. - Record details - EBSCO Discovery Service
Green, L. J. (2002). African American English: A linguistic introduction. Cambridge University Press.
This book offers an overview of African American English, presenting its phonology, syntax, morphology, semantics, and pragmatic features as a coherent linguistic system rather than a collection of deviations from “standard” English. She also discusses how African American English functions in social contexts, including educational and media settings, as well as addresses the attitudes towards it.
African American English : A Linguistic Introduction - EBSCO
Louden, M. L. (2016). Pennsylvania Dutch: The Story of an American Language. Johns Hopkins University Press
This book presents Pennsylvania Dutch in a resilient and evolving language, as it has been around in the U.S since the late eighteenth century to the present. This language is sustained more prevalently among Amish and Mennonite communities. Louden includes fieldwork experience, historical documentation, and analysis to demonstrate how Pennsylvania Dutch has navigated issues within it’s identity.
Pennsylvania Dutch : The Story of an American Language - EBSCO EBSCO Discovery Service
Penfield, J., & Ornstein‑Galicia, J. L. (1985). Chicano English: An ethnic contact dialect (Vol. 7, Varieties of English Around the World). John Benjamins
Penfield and Ornstein-Galicia analyze Chicano English in this book, the dialect that has emerged mostly in the American Southwest due to long term interactions between Spanish and English. This book explores the phonetic, grammatical, and media representations, to demonstrate how to reflects social identity, bilingual settings and how speakers may be perceived by others in cultural and linguistic domains.
Chicano English. An ethnic contact dialect. - EBSCO
Rickford, J. R., Sweetland, J., Rickford A. E., & Grano, T. (2013). African American, Creole, and other vernacular Englishes in education: A bibliographic resource (NCTE-Routledge Research Series).
This source has several sources that focus on African American English, Creole languages, and other vernacular varieties, specifically in educational contexts. It emphasizes how linguistic diversity intersects with educational equity and provides resources for educators, researchers, and policymakers seeking to understand and support students who do not speak in standard English varieties.
African American, Creole, and other vernacular Englishes in education [electronic resource] : a bibliographic resource / John R. Rickford ... [et al.]. - Record details - EBSCO Discovery Service
Clark, A. D., & Hayward, N. M. (2013). Talking Appalachian: Voice, identity, and community. University Press of Kentucky.
This volume explores the cultural and linguistic richness of Appalachian English, highlighting how language functions as a core element of Appalachian identity. Through a mix of essays, narratives, and interviews, the book challenges stereotypes and stigmas attached to Appalachian speech. It advocates for greater recognition of Appalachian voices in education and public discourse.
Algeo, J. (2006). British or American English?: A handbook of word and grammar patterns. Cambridge University Press.
Alegeo’s work is a comparative study of lexical and grammatical differences between British and American English based on corpus data. The book identifies systemic patterns in word usage and syntactic structures, offering insights into how the two varieties of English diverge and overlap.
Academic Journals from the Rohrbach Library's Databases A-Z List
Subject Headings (Search Terms)
Linguistics
English Language – Dialects
English Language – Variations
