Rohrbach Library Home: ENV 380 Seminar in Environmental Sciences: Home

Online Databases for Environmental Science

For specific online databases, use the Databases A-Z page under FIND INFORMATION. There is a list of databases under ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE in the SUBJECTS box on the left, or use the alphabetical jump bar for a specific database title, like SCIENCE DIRECT.

Full-text Databases: Full-text of the articles are in that database

Agricola This link opens in a new window This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
BioOne This link opens in a new window BioOne is an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. BioOne includes a broad selection of the full-texts, peer-reviewed journals and bulletins published by AIBS member societies and other closely related organizations.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Features 150 journals and 5,000 research reports.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window The ScienceDirect College Edition offers access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles. The library subscribes to three ScienceDirect journal collections: Social and Behavioral Science Journals Collection containing 360 full-text peer reviewed journals, Health & Life Sciences Journals Collection containing 900 full-text peer reviewed journals and Physical Sciences Journals Collection containing 600 full-text peer reviewed journals. Coverage 2001 - Current

Citation Databases:

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window World's largest abstracting and indexing service for life sciences. Coverage from 1924 to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1975 to the present , Social sciences citation index from 1975 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present. Continually updated. 1900 - Current

Databases to use depending on your track or topic:

Agricola This link opens in a new window This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Envirofacts This link opens in a new window Allows users to retrieve environmental information from EPA databases on Air, Chemicals, Facility Information, Grants/Funding, Hazardous Waste, Risk Management Plans, Superfund, Toxic Releases, Water Permits, Drinking Water.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window ACS Journals online provides full-text access to journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Springer Nature Journal Collection This link opens in a new window Springer Nature Optimum collection includes more than 2,200 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, and the social sciences.
Note: Library only subscribes to ejournal collection, not ebook collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.

Is this journal legitimate?

In the last 10 years, scholarly publishing has been plagued by explosive growth of bogus scientific journals, sometimes called "predatory journals."

Library databases will screen out these fake journals for you, but if you are picking something from the public internet, you need to add an extra step to your research. You need to make sure the article you are looking at comes from a genuine peer-reviewed journal.

There is a library database called Cabell's that lists predatory journals: Cabell's Predatory Reports. Go to this database and type in the name of the journal you found on the web. If you find the journal in this database, you should not use the article in your research.

Podcasts on ENV databases

ENV 100 Intro to Environmental Research using the Library website: https://www.screencast.com/t/0LazkrWPq

ENV 100 - Science Direct Database. https://www.screencast.com/t/0ROPZgx5td

ENV 100 - Web of Science. https://www.screencast.com/t/xjURGfIqao

ENV 100 - GreenFile https://www.screencast.com/t/vsOXzLgV