Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
Ebooks: these titles (and dozens of others!) are available through our Ebsco ebook collection. Click on the title to begin reading!
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference by
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
"This book contains much useful information, including professional practice, ethics, cultural considerations, assessment, and intervention. This will be a wonderful addition to the libraries of students and professionals alike... Score: 97 - 5 Stars " --Gary B. Kaniuk, PsyD, Cermak Health Services, Doody's Reviews Praise for the first edition "Marini and Stebnicki have compiled an extremely useful and practical counseling resource covering a variety of topics... U]ndergraduates, graduate students, and new counselors will find this a valuable tool...This unique volume is a great addition for college and university libraries...Highly recommended...." --Choice (Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009) This award-winning, bestselling reference for professional counselors and graduate students is extensively updated and expanded to encompass critical developments that are immediately relevant to the counseling professions, including the 2014 American Counseling Association Code of Ethics, CACREP/CORE accreditation standards, the updated DSM-5, the Affordable Care Act, and many other important changes. It reflects the ongoing consolidation of a strong identity for professional counselors and the need to address mental health and other counseling concerns amid marked sociocultural changes. The only resource of its kind, it is an extremely useful guide for counseling students working toward licensure and certification as well as experienced counselors, counselor educators, clinical supervisors, psychologists, and social workers. The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice. It is based on the core content and knowledge areas outlined by CACREP and CORE accreditation standards and disseminates, in 93 chapters, both contemporary insight and practical strategies for working with the complexity of real-life issues related to assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of diverse clients. New chapters address military and veteran health issues; evidence-based practice for training; counseling transgender individuals, partners, and families; counseling caregivers; social justice; and much more. In addition to being a quick-access resource for all counseling professionals, the second edition serves as a concise, accessible reference for graduate students preparing for certification and licensure exams. It features an expanded, comprehensive self-exam of 340 multiple-choice items based on the CACREP/CORE foundational content and knowledge areas for counselor education and training. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded discussion of ethical issues, including the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Affordable Care Act and its impact on delivery of mental health services Coverage of DSM-5 Promotes an interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines Includes an expanded self-exam with 340 study questions for National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) and Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE) prep New chapters on military and veteran mental health issues New chapters on evidence-based practices for counseling, social justice, and behavioral health and health disparities in the United States New chapters on counseling caregivers, children with psychiatric conditions, and survivors of natural disasters New chapter on counseling for wellness New information on complementary, alternative, and integrative approaches New information on counseling LGBTQ couples, partners, and families Key Features: Covers all key foundational content for CACREP/CORE-accredited programs within one volume
Practical Clinical Supervision for Counselors by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
As the field of counseling continues to experience major growth, the need for clinical supervisors is growing proportionally. This stand-alone text for graduate and post-Masters level supervision courses contains all of the information clinical supervisors will need to practice effectively in community mental health and private practice settings. It aligns with current supervision standards issued by the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision, and with the recommendations of the American Association for State Counseling Boards. The book integrates theoretical and practical information while addressing all stages of the supervision process, from initial conceptualization and preparation to direct application and advanced skill utilization. Special attention is paid to ethical and legal issues, professional development, multicultural competence, evaluation, supervisory alliance, parallel process, and advanced supervision strategies. The text presents helpful tools for effective problem solving, including the supervisor self-concept exercise that guides the student in solidifying his or her identity as a supervisor. It will be useful for all levels of experience from novice to advanced supervisors. Key Features: Aligns with current national and state-specific supervision standards Engages readers in multiple exercises that readily facilitate application of concepts and theories Provides solutions to common and emerging supervision dilemmas Addresses such underrepresented supervision components as group supervision and dilemmas specific to private practice or agencies
Ethics and Decision Making in Counseling and Psychotherapy, Fourth Edition by
Publication Date: 2016-04-15
Completely revised and updated to reflect the new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and current ethics codes in psychology, social work, and marriage andfamily therapy. This unparalleled text guides helping professionals in the use of ethical decision-making processes as the foundation for ethicalapproaches to counseling and psychotherapy. The book focuses on ethical and legal challenges and standards across multiple professions emphasizingcounseling. It not only identifies relevant ethical issues in clinical mental health, rehabilitation, group, school, addictions, and career counseling, italso addresses couple and family therapy, clinical supervision, and forensics. The text illuminates the particular application of ethical standards withineach specialty. The book features five new chapters that clearly define how ethical standards are interpreted and applied: Privacy, Confidentiality, and PrivilegedCommunication; Informed Consent; Roles and Relationships With Clients; Professional Responsibility; and Counselor Competency. Under the umbrella of eachbroad topic, the particular nuances of ethical standards within each specialty are analyzed to facilitate comparison across all specialties and settings.The text also addresses current issues in office and administrative practices, technology, and forensic practice that are crucial to school, clinical, andprivate practice settings. Compelling case studies illustrate the connection between ethical decision-making models and ethical practice. Learningobjectives, a comprehensive review of scholarly literature, and a robust ancillary package for educators contribute to the fourth edition'Aos value for usein upper-level undergraduate and graduate classrooms. New to the Fourth Edition: Comprehensive reorganization and reconceptualization of content Reflects new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Includes five new chapters on Privacy, Confidentiality, and Privileged Communication; Informed Consent; Roles and Relationships With Clients; Professional Responsibility; and Counselor Competency Emphasizes specialty practice organized by professional standards Facilitates comparison of standards across disciplines Addresses new issues in office, administrative, technology, and forensic practice Key Features: Delivers an unequaled overview of ethical decision making in counseling and psychotherapy Defines how ethical standards are interpreted and applied in specialty practice Describes how to avoid, address, and solve serious ethical and legal dilemmas Includes learning objectives, case studies, and scholarly literature reviews Offers robust ancillary package with Instructor'Aos Manual, Test Bank, and PowerPoint Slides
Career Counseling Interventions by
Publication Date: 2016-02-28
This graduate text for courses in career counseling is distinguished by its emphasis on creative interventions tailored to the unique needs of diversepopulations. With a focus on career as a cornerstone of personal identity, the book explores the specific meaning of careers within different cultures andexamines the challenges faced by, and potential solutions for, individuals with diverse backgrounds and needs. It describes unique interventions that allowcounseling students to visualize and actualize career counseling with a wide range of clients and demonstrates techniques targeted to each population thatcan be put into practice immediately. The text provides demographic information regarding specific job-seeking groups including such 'Autraditional'Au populations as college graduates and workingparents, as well as groups that encounter special challenges such as stay-at-home parents returning to work, formerly incarcerated individuals, people withdisabilities, teen mothers, African American, Hispanic, and Asian males and females, older adults, LGBT individuals, and many others. Over 50 creative, innovative interventions that have been successfully applied help counselors to provide effective career development strategies with each population. Eachchapter includes a vignette representing each population, group demographics, a history of career paths and obstacles, unique needs of the group, supportsalready in place, and specific career counseling assessments and interventions. The book also provides abundant resources for further study. In addition toits value to career counselors, the text will also be useful to personal counselors who often deal with their clients'Ao career issues during treatment. Key Features: Provides in-depth exploration of underserved populations who have unique career development needs Includes innovative career counseling interventions that move beyond standard 'Aujob hunt strategies'Au or 'Aur√(c)sum√(c) preparation tips'Au Explores life stage concerns related to career development across multiple diverse identities Gives readers step-by-step details on implementing over 50 creative yet practical career counseling techniques Presents case studies that provide clear examples of the application of relevant interventions
College Student Mental Health Counseling by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Using a unique developmental focus, this clinical handbook provides college counseling professionals and trainees with strategies for addressing the most pressing and frequently encountered issues presented by college students. These problems are considered from the perspective of biological, psychological, and social development and include issues faced by the student population according to both college year (freshman, senior, etc.) and the academic calendar, such as spring and winter breaks and exam periods. The text also addresses the particular needs of non-traditional students and the impact of cultural identity on the way in which a disorder manifests or is best treated. The only text to focus on both the developmental and clinical concerns of contemporary college students, it provides detailed information on such prevalent presenting issues as major depressive disorder, anxiety, substance abuse and addiction, eating disorders, grief, self-injury, social adjustment concerns, and intimate relationships. The text examines how a disorder usually presents and manifests in college students, addressing the role of gender, cultural identify, and age. It provides best practice treatment strategies that take into account the time-limited nature of treatment in most college counseling centers, and discusses the use of individual and group counseling. The text also addresses such issues as crisis management, teaming up with faculty and staff to develop preventive care programming, and developing alliances with parents. Case studies and descriptions of symptom presentation are derived from composites of students treated by the authors. College Student Clinical Mental Health Counseling will be useful as both a text and a "go-to" reference for counselors to use when working with students. Key Features: Offers a developmental approach for understanding the psychological, emotional, and social development of students in higher education Addresses the most pressing and frequently encountered difficulties of college students with relevant treatment models Focuses on specific difficulties that may occur during different academic years and according to the standard academic calendar Covers depressive disorders, substance abuse, eating disorders, self-injury, grief, social adjustment concerns, and intimate relationships Provides intervention strategies that adhere to the brief counseling framework of most college settings
Integrating Play Techniques in Comprehensive Counseling Programs by
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Play therapy interventions are critical elements of providing responsive services within the context of comprehensive school counseling programs. However, many school counselors are not trained in the use of play therapy techniques during their graduate training programs as Play Therapy is not a required course based on standards set by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) (2009). Indeed, while there are over 400 school counseling programs in the U. S., there are only 11 certified play therapy training centers. Even more critically, school counselors may not know which play therapy approaches and interventions are evidence-based for specific childhood concerns (e. g., selective mutism, social skills deficits, parent deployment). Play therapy is a structured, theoretically-based approach to counseling that builds on the normal communicative and learning processes of children as they may not have developed the complexities of language to accurately express their concerns (Carmichael, 2006; Gil, 1991; Landreth, 2002; OConnor & Schaefer, 1983). Further, children who are most in crisis may be the ones who need play concepts integrated in counseling; yet, many school counselors are unprepared to provide these vital resources. The focus of this book is on various play techniques and the application of various play therapy theories (i. e., Child Centered Play Therapy, Solution Focused Play Therapy, Cognitive Behavioral Play Therapy) within comprehensive school counseling programs, addressing various childhood concerns, prevention and intervention. Each chapter offers vignettes, a literature review of a specific childhood concern (e.g., homelessness, separation anxiety), pragmatic interventions for the school environment, and a case study to demonstrate application of techniques.
The Psychosis Response Guide by
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
"This book attempts to demystify how young people experience a psychiatric crisis and what steps others can take to stabilize the situation and provide necessary support. Iati and Waford explain mental illness in a way that is easy to comprehend and adaptable to many situations. The book provides step-by-step guidelines for recognizing the symptoms and warning signs of a psychiatric crisis and determining when an individual should seek professional help. Detailed examples and vignettes give a real-life perspective to those seeking to support those living with psychosis."--Jillian M. Blueford, The Professional Counselor '"Approaching the issue of psychosis from a staged, public health approach has momentum nationally. How to understand and intervene in the early stages is a compelling challenge. This book is a comprehensive, readable resource for teachers, physicians, and others to help them understand this important issue.'" 'Ken Duckworth, MD, Medical Director, National Alliance on Mental Illness In recent years, there has been increasing attention given to young people with emerging psychotic illness, both in media coverage of current events aswell as in policies and movements toward providing specialized services to this vulnerable population. This concise, accessible guide for helpingprofessionals without training in psychosis intervention is a quick reference for identifying and intervening with a person experiencing a first psychoticepisode. It guides helping professionals in how to identify a possible psychotic episode, how to interact compassionately and effectively with theindividual, and how to make appropriate referrals toward proper treatment. Free of jargon and unfamiliar medical terminology, this how-to resource offers clear guidelines for detecting possible psychosis, advice on how to provideimmediate care for the at-risk individual, and specific actions to take depending on the severity of the crisis. With a focus on adolescents and young adults'Aithe most 'Auat-risk'Au population for initial psychotic episodes'Aithe book offers quick-access information for a wide range of professionals ineducational and community health settings, including school personnel, counselors, social workers, law enforcement professionals, and primary careproviders. Also included is a brief review of research supporting early intervention strategies. This guide is valuable as a reference for immediate accessto information or can be read from start to finish to increase knowledge and preparedness for a variety of situations. Key Features: Addresses a critical need for early identification of young people who are experiencing a first psychotic episode and describes how to help them Presents information clearly, succinctly, and accessibly for nonspecialists Stresses the need to make appropriate referrals to qualified individuals Written for a wide range of helping and other professionals in educational and community settings Authored by clinicians highly experienced in working with individuals with psychosis
The Persons in Relation Perspective: In Counselling, Psychotherapy and Community Adult Learning by
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
People are constituted by their relationships, past and present, inner and outer, conscious and unconscious. People are agents who experience, know and act on the world. At the heart of your agency is your self: positive, puzzling, and problematic. Colin Kirkwood explores these and other ideas of John Macmurray, Ian Suttie, Ronald Fairbairn, John D Sutherland and Paulo Freire, and shows how they apply in counselling and psychotherapy, adult education, community and society. In today's world, a set of ideas, attitudes and practices has taken hold, which emphasise the individual, self-centredness, pleasure-seeking, consumption, success and the accumulation of wealth and power. They are deeply harmful and need to be tackled. Colin demonstrates how these ideas affect us, and how they can be taken on and defeated, in a dialogical narrative of psychotherapy with a girl suffering from severe anorexia, written by the girl herself, her psychotherapist and one of her doctors. John Shemilt, Psychoanalyst and Consultant Psychiatrist, writes: Through his lucid, personalist account of the development of the Scottish tradition in psychoanalytic thinking, Colin Kirkwood provides an important 21st century commentary on the meaning of social context, the personal relationship and the experience of self in the process of counselling and psychotherapy. John McLeod, Emeritus Professor of Counselling, University of Abertay Dundee, writes: I highly recommend this book to all counsellors and psychotherapists who are interested in deepening their understanding of their work. Colin Kirkwood writes accessibly, with humour and grace, and draws on philosophical and cultural perspectives to offer a fresh appreciation of the meaning of adopting a relational approach to therapy. His work is grounded in everyday life experience, but at the same time views that experience as a microcosm of wider social and political currents. This book will be of interest to those involved in counselling, psychotherapy and psychoanalysis; psychiatry, psychology, nursing and general medical practice; social work and pastoral care; schooling, adult, community and higher education; ecology, theology and social geography; literature and philosophy; and politics, international and intercultural relations."
An A to Z Practical Guide to Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties by
Publication Date: 2001-12-28
The aim of this practical and user-friendly A to Z handbook is to enable the interested reader to gain quick and easy access to entries relating to or associated with emotional and behavioral difficulties. It focuses on adult problems as well as those of children and adolescents. The entries clearly and succinctly define and explain emotional behavioral terms and some of the different ways in which emotional and behavioral problems can be approached or treated. Where appropriate, entries are accompanied by a brief bibliography. Useful addresses and contact phone numbers are also provided where appropriate. This guide is useful for all teachers, mentors, social workers, educational social workers, educational psychologists, counselors, care workers, students and other professionals and voluntary workers in allied fields. It will also be of interest to parents and carers.
Adolescent Self-Injury by
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
In this truly comprehensive guide, Dr. D'Onofrio approaches the topic of how first-responders, such as teachers, coaches, social workers, guidance counselors, and campus health counselors, can and do treat adolescent self-injury. From examinations of the core social and emotional issues related to self-injury to the integration of understanding with practice, everything needed for comprehensive care is detailed in this volume. Each part of the book focuses on a basic topic, such as what constitutes self-injury, the foundations for self-injury, and how to engage an adolescent with these issues. Each issue is presented in straightforward chapters that are immediately accessible to those who are currently struggling to address this growing trend among teens. The chapters within each part delve into how to recognize, treat, and approach this illness and incorporate first-person stories from psychologists, teachers, and adolescents themselves.
Developing and Managing Your School Guidance and Counseling Program by
Publication Date: 2014-11-21
The fifth edition of this bestseller expands and extends Gysbers and Henderson's acclaimed five-phase model of planning, designing, implementing, evaluating, and enhancing Pre-K-12 guidance and counseling programs. This enduring, influential textbook has been fully updated to reflect current theory and practice, including knowledge gained through various state and local adaptations of the model since publication of the last edition. Exciting additions to this new edition are increased attention to diversity and the range of issues that students present, counselor accountability, and the roles and responsibilities of district- and building-level guidance and counseling leaders in an increasingly complex educational environment. An abundant array of examples, sample forms, job descriptions, evaluation surveys, flyers, letters, and procedures used by various states and school districts clearly illustrate each step of program development. At the end of each chapter, a new feature called "Your Progress Check" functions as a tracking tool for growth at each stage of the change process. *Requests for digital versions from the ACA can be found on wiley.com. *To request print copies, please visit the ACA website.