Skip to main content

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

OpenAthens: Linking to Library Resources

This guide provides information about OpenAthens, the library's authentication system for electronic resources.

Permalinks are the easiest way to link to library resources in D2L, course syllabi, reading lists, websites, and email. A permalink (also called a persistent link, permanent link, stable link, static link, or durable link) is a URL or web address that will consistently point to a specific library resource, such as a full-text article, ebook, ejournal, streaming video, database, or record in a database.

Why should I use permalinks?

  1. URLs or links that appear in the address bar of your web browser when you search the library's databases may be session-based or search-based and will not work when copied and used at a later time.
  2. Linking to licensed library resources in D2L, syllabi, and course reading lists is copyright compliant. Linking is recommended over posting digital copies of the full text of an article, a book chapter, or an image. 
  3. Each time a library resource is accessed, a use for that resource is counted. The librarians gather usage statistics and consider usage when making decisions about journal or database cancelations. 

How do I create a permalink?

Each database handles permalinking differently.  Below is a list of our most commonly used resources and how to create permalinks.

Jump to EBSCO |Films on Demand |JSTOR | ProQuest | ScienceDirect 

Many links at the item level (e.g. article, ebook, video) can be turned into a permalink by appending our institutional OpenAthens proxy base URL to the item level link.  Click on the Create Your Own Permalinks tab above for a convenient tool that facilitates this process.‚Äč

Please contact Bob Flatley or your library liaison if you need assistance.

EBSCO databases include permalink feature that allows you to quickly create permalinks, simply click the Permalink tool on the right toolbar and the permalink with be generated above the item title.

Films on Demand: After you find the video you want to share follow the steps below:

JSTOR permalinks are displayed under the publication information on the left.

ProQuest database links are permalinks by default, they have KU's institutional code embedding within the link.  You can simply cut and paste the link after you are at the title level of a result:

ScienceDirect links are permalinks but they are not pre-appended with KU's authentication information. They will resolve to the bibliographic details and abstract but not the full-text. In order to create articles that will resolve to the full-text simple copy the URL from your browser and paste it in the Create Your Own Permalinks tool.

undefined

Linking to Library Databases

On the Library's Databases A-Z page, click on the share icon to the right of each database to get a permalink for that resource.

Linking to Ebooks and Streaming Videos

Each record in the library catalog includes its own permalink.  After you do a search, click on the three dots (...) on the right:

Then click on permalink:

Linking to E-journals

Search for the journal title using the Journal Title Search on the library's web site:

Click on the journal title:

Click on permalink:

 

 

Use this box to convert a resource link to a permalink for off-campus access to the resource.
Copy and paste the URL into the box. Then click the "URL Encode" button.

https://go.openathens.net/redirector/kutztown.edu?url=

Copy and paste the entire red URL into D2L, a Web page, document, etc.

You can also use the OpenAthens Link Generator Tool:

This page includes known linking issues and advice with D2L

Linking to library subscription videos in D2L (e.g. Academic Video, Films on Demand, Kanopy, Swank)

In order to add streaming videos from library databases to Content in D2L do not use the Video or Audio upload/create option, instead use the Link option: