Rohrbach Library Home: POLI 101:Social Science Design and Research Dr. Jacobson: Searching for Articles

Omnisearch - library's "one search" tool - articles in all subjects

Search Everything This link opens in a new window A unified, customized index of Kutztown University’s information resources. Essentially allows the researcher to search almost all of the library's databases with one search.

General academic databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 11,000 full-text periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
Political Science Complete Political Science Complete is an extensive full-text collection and index to political science literature. It includes online full-text for 500+ academic journals in political science and related fields. It also provides cover to cover indexing for a total of 1,000 political science journals and selective coverage for an additional 1,000 journals in related fields. It also includes a collection of some 340 reference and other political science e-books. In this way, Political Science Complete forms the perfect in-depth complement to the broader coverage found in our current PAIS database.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology with 2,600 active Research Library sources-- over 1,700 are available in full text. Over 1,600, in full image. Coverage 1971 to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1975 to the present , Social sciences citation index from 1975 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present. Continually updated. 1900 - Current
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception, and much more!
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science®, provides users with access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings. Includes essential data from over 1,950 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines, as well as 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage: 1900 - Current
Westlaw Campus Research Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and state governments; includes American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports, case law from 1789 to present, current statutes and regulations and thousands of news sources and data on millions of companies.
Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities Library The Social Sciences & Humanities Library provides access to over 1,400 journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines.

Other Databases

Library Databases

Finding Articles in Magazines and Journals

Databases for Magazine and Journal Articles

Start at the Library Home page - use the OneSearch tab to search most library resources at once, or visit the Popular Databases page.

Newspaper, Magazine, & Journal Articles:

Academic Search Ultimate from EBSCO. Almost all the entries in this database have the article attached, which means it is a "full-text" database. Also, it is part of the EBSCOHost interface, so you can use MY EBSCO to save the citations. If you don't know about MY EBSCO, you should register at the "Sign In" tab at the top and set up an account.
Proquest like Academic Search Complete, Proquest is a database that has magazines, newspapers, and journals on all subjects. The information goes from everyday knowledge to highly complex research journals.
Newsbank (Newspaper Database) - Major newspapers from around the world. Full-text - the articles are all in the database.
Keystone KU student newspaper

Other sources

CQ Researcher publishes 44 reports each year on contemporary, social, and political topics. Each report contains extensive bibliographies, websites and other resources.
Biography in Context is the library's largest database for biographical information.
News Sources - access news sources from the United States and all over the world here.
Reference Sources - encyclopedias and sources for basic background information on all topics
Data & Statistics The US Government collects a lot of statistics - here's a guide
Op-Ed Resources The OpEd Project has links to submission guidelines for many publications

POLI 101:Social Science Design and Research Dr. Jacobson

Omnisearch - library's "one search" tool - articles in all subjects

General academic databases

Other Databases

Finding Articles in Magazines and Journals

Databases for Magazine and Journal Articles

Limiting your results