Finding Biographies - ENGL/WGST 278 - Dr. Clemens - Rohrbach Library Home at Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Biography Resources

Start with the general biographical resources, especially to gather very basic information. Find the Biography Databases by going to the A-Z Database page and in the All Subjects dropdown, select Biography.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.

Move to:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 11,000 full-text periodicals.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology with 2,600 active Research Library sources-- over 1,700 are available in full text. Over 1,600, in full image. Coverage 1971 to the present.