For pandemic-related information on library services during Spring 2021 go to our COVID 19 guide
Online Style Guides
CSE Scientific Style
The Council of Science Editors format is the most common citation format used in the General Sciences. The guidelines presented here are consistent with advice given in Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed. (2006).
CSE Quick Guide
CSE Quick Guide from Washington State University Libraries.
Use these citation guides to see examples of different citation styles for a variety of source formats.
Citation Builders and Tools
Citation Builders and Tools
Enter your citation information, and these builders will create your bibliography for you in Chicago/Turabian, CSE, MLA or APA citation style. Online citation generators are no substitute for knowing proper style; they process data, so any errors that go into them carry over to the citations they make.
A free automatic citation creator that supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formatting, originally developed at Carnegie Mellon University.
21st Century Information Fluency Online Citation Wizards
free tools that generate citations in CSE, MLA, and APA styles from a variety of source formats including online journal articles, electronic books, webpages, and databases. The tools were developed by the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy.
Endnote Web is a Web-based reference management tool that allows you to create a personal database of up to 10,000 references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.
Click a link below to do a quick catalog search on the style of your choice to see what books are available at Rohrbach Library:
Some Tips and Getting Help
- Keep in mind that the purpose of a bibliography is to enable your reader to find the actual sources you used.
- It's important to remember to note the databases that you use if you are getting articles and books online. The citation is the same, but it includes the database name and access information.
- Web sites can be tricky - it's important to try to track down who is responsible for the site and when it was last updated.
- Your instructor is likely to be an excellent source of bibliography information.
- The reference librarians are experts on citations and bibliographies. Don't hesitate to ask for help. Ask for the research librarian on duty at the Information Desk, near the library entrance. During hours that the Research Desk is staffed, visit or call 610-683-4165 for professional assistance. At other times you can email email@example.com