Geography Guide

This title, first published in 1951, examines the growth, fields, techniques, aims and trends of geography at the time. The book is divided into three parts, of which the first deals with the evolution of geography and its philosophical basis. The second is concerned with studies of special environments and with advances in geomorphology, meteorology, climate, soils and regionalism. The last part describes field work, sociological and urban aspects, the function of the Geographical Society and geo-pacifics. Geography in the Twentieth Century will be of interest to students of both physical and human geography.

This fully-revised comprehensive fourth edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS. This new edition reflects developments in the discipline during the last decade, with the expert advisory group providing an international perspective on the discipline of physical geography.   Over 2000 entries that are self-contained or cross-referenced include 200 that are new to this edition, over 400 that are rewritten and updated, and new supporting references and additional recommended reading in many others. Entries removed from the last edition are available in the online resource. This volume is the essential reference point for students of physical geography and related environmental disciplines, lecturers and interested individuals alike.

Geography in America at the Dawn of the 21st Century surveys American geographers' current research in their specialty areas and tracks trends and innovations in the many subfields of geography. As such, it is both a 'state of the discipline' assessment and a topical reference. It includes an introduction by the editors and 47 chapters, each on a specific specialty. The authors of each chapter were chosen by their specialty group of the American Association of Geographers (AAG). Based on a process of review and revision, the chapters in this volume have become truly representative of the recent scholarship of American geographers. While it focuses on work since 1990, it additionally includes related prior work and work by non-American geographers. The initial Geography in America was published in 1989 and has become a benchmark reference of American geographical research during the 1980s. This latest volume is completely new and features a preface written by the eminent geographer, Gilbert White.

An engaging and at times sobering look at the coexistence of humans and animals in the 21st century and how their sometimes disparate needs affect environments, politics, economies, and culture worldwide. There is an urgent need to understand human-animal interactions and relations as we become increasingly aware of our devastating impact on the natural resources needed for the survival of all animal species. This timely reference explores such topics as climate change and biodiversity, the impact of animal domestication and industrial farming on local and global ecosystems, and the impact of human consumption of wild species for food, entertainment, medicine, and social status. This volume also explores the role of pets in our lives, advocacy movements on behalf of animals, and the role of animals in art and media culture. Authors Julie Urbanik and Connie L. Johnston introduce the concept of animal geography, present different aspects of human-animal relationships worldwide, and highlight the importance of examining these interconnections. Alphabetical entries illustrate key relationships, concepts, practices, and animal species. The book concludes with a comprehensive appendix of select excerpts from key primary source documents relating to animals and a glossary.

The world is not as mobile or as interconnected as we like to think. As Harm de Blij argues in The Power of Place, in crucial ways--from the uneven distribution of natural resources to the unequal availability of opportunity--geography continues to hold billions of people in its grip. We are all born into natural and cultural environments that shape what we become, individually and collectively. From our "mother tongue" to our father's faith, from medical risks to natural hazards, where we start our journey has much to do with our destiny. Hundreds of millions of farmers in the river basins of Asia and Africa, and tens of millions of shepherds in isolated mountain valleys from the Andes to Kashmir, all live their lives much as their distant ancestors did, remote from the forces of globalization. Incorporating a series of persuasive maps, De Blij describes the tremendously varied environments across the planet and shows how migrations between them are comparatively rare. De Blij also looks at the ways we are redefining place so as to make its power even more potent than it has been, with troubling implications.

Urban Geography a comprehensive introduction to a variety of issues relating to contemporary urban geography, including patterns and processes of urbanization, urban development, urban planning, and life experiences in modern cities. Reveals both the diversity of ordinary urban geographies and the networks, flows and relations which increasingly connect cities and urban spaces at the global scale Uses the city as a lens for proposing and developing critical concepts which show how wider social processes, relations, and power structures are changing Considers the experiences, lives, practices, struggles, and words of ordinary urban residents and marginalized social groups rather than exclusively those of urban elites Shows readers how to develop critical perspectives on dominant neoliberal representations of the city and explore the great diversity of urban worlds

Using the story of the "West and the world" as its backdrop, this book provides for beginning students a clear and concise introduction to Human Geography, including its key concepts, seminal thinkers and their theories, contemporary debates, and celebrated case studies. Introduces and applies the basic concepts of human geography in clear, concise, and engaging prose Explores the significance of the rise, reign, and faltering of the West from around the fifteenth century in the shaping of the key demographic, environmental, social, economic, political, and cultural processes active in the world today Addresses important thinkers, debates, and theories in an accessible manner with a focus on discerning the inherent Western bias in human geographical ideas Incorporates case studies that explore human geographies which are being made in both Western and non Western regions, including Latin America, Africa and Asia. Is written so as to be accessible to students and contains chapter learning objectives, checklists of key ideas, chapter essay questions, zoom in boxes, guidance for further reading and a book glossary. Accompanied by a website at www.wiley.com/go/boyle featuring, for students, tutorial exercises, bonus zoom in boxes, links to further learning resources and biographies of key thinkers, and for instructors, further essay questions, multiple choice exam questions, and ppt lecture slides for each chapter.

Geography Today provides a thoughtful and thorough introduction to the study of geography--from maps and technology to the study of different cultures, political systems, and economies, and an investigation of plate tectonics and climate systems. Geography Today: An Encyclopedia of Concepts, Issues, and Technology approaches the study of geography by concept, in contrast to most other works, which are organized by world region. Geography curriculums have been moving away from teaching the topic on a regional basis and toward teaching it through broader concepts. This is modeled by the National Geography Standards, the National Council for Geographic Education's Roadmap for 21st Century Geography Education, Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills Resource System, and ABC-CLIO's own geography advisory board, comprised of high school geography teachers from across the United States. By introducing geography concepts, Geography Today sets the foundation for readers to understand why certain geographies may be the way they are. It further helps high school geography students to apply concepts to different contexts with 101 geography terms, themes, and concepts for quick-reference research and study.

A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.

Features coverage of every Native American culture that exists today in the United States and Canada. In addition, there is full coverage of such diverse groups as Cajuns, African Americans, Amish, Mormons and Latinos.