Skip to main content
For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide
New Books - Education
Multicultural Competence in Student Affairs by
Call Number: LB2342.92 P67 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-23
Effectively address the challenges of equity and inclusion on campus The long-awaited second edition, Multicultural Competence in Student Affairs: Advancing Social Justice and Inclusion, introduces an updated model of student affairs competence that reflects the professional competencies identified by ACPA and NASPA (2015) and offers a valuable approach to dealing effectively with increasingly complex multicultural issues on campus. To reflect the significance of social justice, the updated model of multicultural awareness, knowledge, and skills now includes multicultural action and advocacy and speaks directly to the need for enhanced perspectives, tools, and strategies to create inclusive and equitable campuses. This book offers a fresh approach and new strategies for student affairs professionals to enhance their practice; useful guidelines and revised core competencies provide a framework for everyday challenges, best practices that advance the ability of student affairs professionals to create multicultural change on their campuses, and case studies that allow readers to consider and apply essential awareness, knowledge, skills, and action applied to common student affairs situations. Multicultural Competence in Student Affairs: Advancing Social Justice and Inclusion will allow professionals to: Examine the updated and revised dynamic model of student affairs competence Learn how multicultural competence translates into effective and efficacious practice Understand the inextricable connections between multicultural competence and social justice Examine the latest research and practical implications Explore the impacts of practices on assessment, advising, ethics, teaching, administration, technology, and more Learn tools and strategies for creating multicultural change, equity, and inclusion on campus Understanding the changes taking place on campus today and developing the competencies to make individual and systems change is essential to the role of student affairs professional. What is needed are new ways of thinking and innovative strategies and approaches to how student affairs professionals interact with students, train campus faculty and staff, and structure their campuses. Multicultural Competence in Student Affairs: Advancing Social Justice and Inclusion provides guidance for the evolving realities of higher education.
We Want to Do More Than Survive by
Call Number: LC2717 L68 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
A path to educational justice for all students - one that encourages teachers, parents, and their communities to adopt the rebellious spirit and bold and creative methods of abolitionists Educator Bettina Love argues that the U.S educational system is maintained by and profits from the suffering of children of color. Reformers offer survival tactics in the forms of test-taking skills, acronyms, grit labs, and character education which she calls the Education Survival Complex. To dismantle the educational survival complex and to achieve educational freedom--not reform--educators, parents, and community leaders must approach education through the imagination, determination, boldness and urgency of an abolitionist. Drawing on her experiences as a student and teacher, Love highlights young community leaders, artists and activists who are advocating for social change and inclusion. She persuasively argues that educators must teach students about racial violence, oppression, and how to make sustainable change in their communities through radical civic initiatives and movements. She concludes by showing how young leaders are expanding our ideas of civic engagement and intersectional justice by using the playbook of abolitionists like Ella Barker, Bayard Rustin, and Fannie Lou Hamer.
How Girls Achieve by
Call Number: LC1481 N83 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-22
If we want girls to succeed, we need to teach them the audacity to transgress. Through the lives of students at three very different schools, an award-winning scholar-activist makes the case for "feminist schools" that orient girls toward a lifetime of achievement. This bold and necessary book points out a simple and overlooked truth: most schools never had girls in mind to begin with. That is why the world needs what Sally Nuamah calls "feminist schools," deliberately designed to provide girls with achievement-oriented identities. And she shows how these schools would help all students, regardless of their gender. Educated women raise healthier families, build stronger communities, and generate economic opportunities for themselves and their children. Yet millions of disadvantaged girls never make it to school--and too many others drop out or fail. Upending decades of advice and billions of dollars in aid, Nuamah argues that this happens because so many challenges girls confront--from sexual abuse to unequal access to materials and opportunities--go unaddressed. But it isn't enough just to go to school. What you learn there has to prepare you for the world where you'll put that knowledge to work. A compelling and inspiring scholar who has founded a nonprofit to test her ideas, Nuamah reveals that developing resilience is not a gender-neutral undertaking. Preaching grit doesn't help girls; it actively harms them. Drawing on her deep immersion in classrooms in the United States, Ghana, and South Africa, Nuamah calls for a new approach: creating feminist schools that will actively teach girls how and when to challenge society's norms, and allow them to carve out their own paths to success.
Integrating the Visual Arts Across the Curriculum by
Call Number: LB1570 M366845 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-30
With lots of examples and color images, this resource is both a foundational text and a practical guidebook for bringing contemporary art into elementary and middle school classrooms as a way to make learning joyful and meaningful for all learners. Marshall shows how asking questions and posing problems spark curiosity and encourage learners to think deeply and make meaningful connections across the curriculum. At the center of this approach is creativity, with contemporary visual art as its inspiration. The text covers methods of creative inquiry-based learning, art and how it connects to the "big ideas" addressed by academic domains, flexible structures teachers can use for curriculum development, creative teaching strategies using contemporary art, and models of art-based inquiry curriculum. Book Features: Provides research-based project ideas and curriculum models for arts integration. Shows how Project Zero's flexible structures and frameworks can be used to develop creative inquiry and an arts integration curriculum. Explains how contemporary visual art connects to the four major disciplines--science, mathematics, social studies, and language arts. Includes full-color images of contemporary art that are appropriate for elementary and middle school learners. Demonstrates how arts integration can and should be substantive, multidimensional, and creative.
Connect to Lead by
Call Number: LB1027 M3375 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
We're in the midst of an exciting time in education as schools are adjusting their trajectory to ensure they're future-ready. Educators are infusing creative programs and innovative teaching practices to move our schools forward. With a goal to push student thinking and advance teaching and learning, school leaders need to consider strategies to leverage innovation in their schools, including the development of meaningful professional learning through educational networks.This book discusses the benefits of learning networks and the ways positive relationships can enhance learning for all students, teachers and leaders. It explores how technology can be leveraged to maximize learning, by connecting learners across boundaries, creating open lines of communication, establishing a platform for idea sharing and incorporating innovation within all professional learning opportunities. Featuring stories of leaders who are demonstrating innovative ways to move their school systems forward, and examples from educators who are improving instruction through a connected network, the book offers practical action steps and a vision for implementing the ideas discussed in the book.
Building Better Citizens by
Call Number: LC1091 K67 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-23
Educating for citizenship was the original mission of American schools, but for decades that knowledge--also known as civics education--has been in decline, as schools have shifted focus to college and career, STEM, and raising reading and math scores. But over the last few years, spurred on by political polarization and a steep decline in public understanding, civics education is seeing a nation-wide resurgence, as school leaders, educators, and parents recognize the urgency of teaching young people how America works--especially young people who have been marginalized from the political system. But this isn't your grandmother's civics. The "new" civics has been updated and re-tooled for the phone-addicted, multi-cultural, globalized twenty-first century kid. From combatting "fake news" with fact checking in Silicon Valley, to reviving elementary school social studies in Nashville, to learning civic activism in Oklahoma City, journalist Holly Korbey documents the grassroots revival happening across the country. Along the way, she provides an essential guidebook for educators, school leaders and caregivers of all types who want to educate a new generation of engaged citizens at a critical time in American democracy.
Why Race and Culture Matter in Schools by
Call Number: LC213.2 H67 2019
Publication Date: 2020-01-03
Issues tied to race and culture continue to be a part of the landscape of America's schools and classrooms. Given the rapid demographic transformation in the nation's states, cities, counties, and schools, it is essential that all school personnel acquire the necessary knowledge, skills, and dispositions to talk, teach, and think across racial and cultural differences. The second edition of Howard's bestseller has been updated to take a deeper look at how schools must be prepared to respond to disparate outcomes among students of color. Tyrone Howard draws on theoretical constructs tied to race and racism, culture, and opportunity gaps to address pressing issues stemming from the chronic inequalities that remain prevalent in many schools across the country. This time-honored text will help educators at all levels respond with greater conviction and clarity on how to create more equitable, inclusive, and democratic schools as sites for teaching and learning. The New Edition: Addresses changing ethnic and racial demographics in U.S. schools and communities. Identifies core gaps in academic outcomes across racial and ethnic lines. Addresses potential root causes of academic disparities. Offers recommendations for addressing disparities in outcomes. Provides in-depth analysis on the salience of race and racism in U.S. schools. Includes strategies to help school leaders create more equitable schools. Identifies innovative programs with evidence-based results on eliminating disparities.