Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For pandemic-related information on library services during Spring 2021 go to our COVID 19 guide
Print Books: these are available in Rohrbach's Main Collection
GIS and Cartographic Modeling by
Call Number: G 70.2 T4643 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-05
GIS and Cartographic Modeling is a foundational work in the field of geographic information systems (GIS). An introduction to the concepts, conventions, and capabilities of map algebra as a general language, this book describes the analytical use of raster-based GIS. By focusing on the fundamentals of cartographic modeling techniques, C. Dana Tomlin illustrates concepts that can be applied to any GIS. This publication of GIS and Cartographic Modeling contains updated graphics and a new preface.
GIS Tutorial for Crime Analysis by
Call Number: HV 7936.C88 G7645 2012
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
GIS Tutorial for Crime Analysis is a crime-mapping workbook for analysts and students of criminology. This book combines step-by-step tutorials with independent exercises to introduce key GIS skills, including data preparation, template building, and map production automation. Exercises teach readers skills needed in police departments across the nation. In addition to exercises, this book includes a 180-day trial version of ArcGIS® Desktop 10 software and exercise-data. Instructor resource DVD available on request.
GIS for Decision Support and Public Policy Making by
Call Number: G70.215 U6 T45
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Elected officials and department heads are increasingly relying on geographic information system (GIS) technology to make efficient and accurate decisions when and where it counts. GIS for Decision Support and Public Policy Making presents twenty-seven case studies and eight exercises that demonstrate the positive impact of incorporating GIS methodology in daily operations of the public sector. Discover how GIS has improved communications, collaboration, and decision making in the organizations featured in this book. A return on investment matrix is also included as a resource to evaluate cost and time savings due to the increased productivity that a GIS allows.
GIS Tutorial II by
Call Number: G 70 212 A434 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
GIS Tutorial II: Spatial Analysis Workbook offers hands-on exercises to help GIS users at the intermediate level continue to build their problem-solving and analysis skills. Inspired by The ESRI Guide to GIS Analysis book series by Andy Mitchell, GIS Tutorial II provides a practical format for GIS users to develop proficiency in various spatial analysis methods, including classification; assessment of quantities and densities; location analysis; change over time, location, and value comparisons; geographic distribution; pattern analysis; and cluster identification. Whether used in combination with The ESRI Guide to GIS Analysis books or by itself, GIS Tutorial II: Spatial Analysis Workbook is the perfect tool for anyone who is ready to take their knowledge of GIS technology to the next level. GIS Tutorial II: Spatial Analysis Workbook includes a fully functioning 180-day trial version of ArcGIS® Desktop 9.3 software on DVD and a DVD of data for working through the exercises.
GIS for Environmental Management by
Call Number: GE 300 S26 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
This look at complex environmental challenges and their increasingly sophisticated technological solutions explores case studies of the most innovative geographic information system (GIS) projects yet devised by governments, businesses, and individuals. Each study showcases GIS solutions, yet balances the technology with practical human applications. Topics ranging from biodiversity and pollution to specific subjects such as coastal zone management and change detection make this text relevant for nontechnical audiences and GIS professionals alike.
GIS for the Urban Environment by
Call Number: HT 153 M314 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
This introduction to urban planning applications and problem solving with CIS is appropriate for students and professionals in the fields of geography, urban studies, urban planning, urban public health, urban environmental assessment, and hazard and emergency management. Technical jargon is minimized while the analytical concepts are fully described, enabling full use and understanding of GIS techniques. Infused in the included laboratory exercises are real-world activities that are often required in urban GIS projects but rarely included in prepared lab work, such as data acquisition, integrating data into the GIS, and manipulation of real data. Project design and analysis methodologies are also demonstrated with real-life examples of urban GIS projects.
Geographic Information Systems for the Social Sciences by
Call Number: H 62 S7542 2006
Publication Date: 2005-08-04
Geographic Information Systems for the Social Sciences: Investigating Space and Place is the first book to take a cutting-edge approach to integrating spatial concepts into the social sciences. In this text, authors Steven J. Steinberg and Sheila L. Steinberg simplify GIS (Geographic Information Systems) for practitioners and students in the social sciences through the use of examples and actual program exercises so that they can become comfortable incorporating this research tool into their repertoire and scope of interest. The authors provide learning objectives for each chapter, chapter summaries, links to relevant Web sites, as well as suggestions for student research projects.
GIS and Crime Mapping by
Call Number: HV 7936 C88 C48 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-22
The growing potential of GIS for supporting policing and crimereduction is now being recognised by a broader community. GIS canbe employed at different levels to support operational policing,tactical crime mapping, detection, and wider-ranging strategicanalyses. With the use of GIS for crime mapping increasing, thisbook provides a definitive reference. GIS and Crime Mapping provides essential information andreference material to support readers in developing andimplementing crime mapping. Relevant case studies help demonstratethe key principles, concepts and applications of crime mapping. This book combines the topics of theoretical principles, GIS,analytical techniques, data processing solutions, informationsharing, problem-solving approaches, map design, and organisationalstructures for using crime mapping for policing and crimereduction. Delivered in an accessible style, topics are covered ina manner that underpins crime mapping use in the three broad areasof operations, tactics and strategy. Provides a complete start-to-finish coverage of crime mapping,including theory, scientific methodologies, analysis techniques anddesign principles. Includes a comprehensive presentation of crime mappingapplications for operational, tactical and strategic purposes. Includes global case studies and examples to demonstrate goodpractice. Co-authored by Spencer Chainey, a leading researcher andconsultant on GIS and crime mapping, and Jerry Ratcliffe, arenowned professor and former police officer. This book is essential reading for crime analysts and otherprofessionals working in intelligence roles in law enforcement orcrime reduction, at the local, regional and national governmentlevels. It is also an excellent reference for undergraduateand Masters students taking courses in GIS, Geomatics, CrimeMapping, Crime Science, Criminal Justice and Criminology.
GIS Worlds by
Call Number: G 70.212 M289 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
In describing the emergence of the spatial data infrastructure (SDI) phenomenon, this book covers the diffusion and evolution of SDIs around the world, and indicates the countries in which SDIs are far along, and those in which more work is needed. The implementation of SDIs from a practical perspective and a method of institution building for regional, continental, and global SDIs is outlined. This guide offers recommendations about how SDI stakeholders around the world can leverage the work already done and maintain the momentum that is currently driving the global SDI phenomenon.
Call Number: G 70.2 W659 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-11
GIS: A Computing Perspective, Second Edition, provides a full, up-to-date overview of GIS, both Geographic Information Systems and the study of Geographic Information Science. Analyzing the subject from a computing perspective, the second edition explores conceptual and formal models needed to understand spatial information, and examines the representations and data structures needed to support adequate system performance. This volume also covers the special-purpose interfaces and architectures required to interact with and share spatial information, and explains the importance of uncertainty and time. The material on GIS architectures and interfaces as well as spatiotemporal information systems is almost entirely new. The second edition contains substantial new information, and has been completely reformatted to improve accessibility. Changes include: A new chapter on spatial uncertainty Complete revisions of the bibliography, index, and supporting diagrams Supplemental material is offset at the top of the page, as are references and links for further study Definitions of new terms are in the margins of pages where they appear, with corresponding entries in the index
GIS in Public Health Practice by
Call Number: RA 440.85 G57 2004
Publication Date: 2004-06-11
Significant advances in the evaluation and use of geographic information have had a major effect on key elements of public health. Strides in mapping technology as well as the availability and accuracy of health information enable public health practitioners to link and analyze data in new ways at international, regional, and even street levels. This geographical perspective generates new approaches in the study of communicable disease control, environmental health protection, health needs assessment, planning and policy, operational public health management, and many other areas. GIS in Public Health Practice includes contributions from the leading researchers in the field who participated in the First European Conference on Geographic Information Sciences and Public Health. This event promoted the use of GIS within the realm of public health. Specifically selected and expanded contributions illustrate particular areas of application and address issues of major importance. Many of the chapters have a UK or European focus, but examine issues, principles, and methods that are relevant worldwide. GIS in Public Health Practice is the first book to treat GIS as more than a mere technology. It recognizes GIS as a science that encompasses the development and application of scientific methods toward solving societal problems, an emerging facet of public health research and practice. This compilation is beneficial to all practitioners and researchers with an interest in public health.
GIS Algorithms by
Call Number: G 70.212 X53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Geographic information systems (GIS) have become increasingly important in helping us understand complex social, economic, and natural dynamics where spatial components play a key role. The critical algorithms used in GIS, however, are notoriously difficult to both teach and understand, in part due to the lack of a coherent representation. GIS Algorithms attempts to address this problem by combining rigorous formal language with example case studies and student exercises. Using Python code throughout, Xiao breaks the subject down into three fundamental areas: Geometric Algorithms Spatial Indexing Spatial Analysis and Modelling With its comprehensive coverage of the many algorithms involved, GIS Algorithms is a key new textbook in this complex and critical area of geography.
Getting to Know Web GIS by
Call Number: G 70.212 F79 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-16
Thinking about GIS by
Call Number: G 70.212 T66 203
Publication Date: 2013-09-26
Thinking About GIS: Geographic Information System Planning for Managers presents a planning model for designing data and technology systems that will meet any organization’s specific needs. Designed for two primary audiences, senior managers who oversee information technologies and technical specialists responsible for system design, this book provides a common platform on which to conduct GIS planning. The fifth edition reflects the latest trends in geospatial technology and includes updated case studies. Exercises from Roger Tomlinson's course Planning for a GIS and a video of the ""Planning and Managing a GIS"" seminar from the 2012 Esri International User Conference are included on the accompanying DVD.
Introduction to Geographic Information Systems by
Call Number: G 70.212 C4736 2016
Publication Date: 2015-01-16
Introduction to Geographic Information Systems, 8th edition is designed to provide students in a first or second GIS course with a solid foundation in both GIS concepts and the use of GIS. Introduction to GIS strikes a careful balance between GIS concepts and hands-on applications. The main portion of the chapter presents GIS terms and concepts and helps students learn how each one fits into a complete GIS system. At the end of each chapter, an application section with 2-7 tasks presents students with actual GIS exercises and the necessary data to solve the problem.
Collaborative Geographic Information Systems by
Call Number: G 70.212 C63 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-31
Identifies unifying concepts in the field of geographic information systems (GIS), providing a comprehensive treatment of collaborative GIS focusing on system design, group spatial planning and mapping, Internet and wireless applications, and more. This book is of interest to academic researchers, planners and policy makers, and graduate students.
GIS Exercise Workbook for Getting Started with Geographic Information Systems by
Call Number: G 70.2212 C572 2011
Publication Date: 2010-04-29
Getting Started with Geographic Information Systems by
Call Number: G 70.212 C57 2011
Publication Date: 2010-04-02
This text puts the high-tech field of geographic information systems within reach for students like you. It provides a basic, non-technical, and friendly introduction in one convenient source. It examines the basic GIS material that is traditionally found throughout the Geography curriculum--e.g., in Cartography, GIS spatial analysis, and quantitative methods. Clarke's "learn-by-seeing" approach gives you clear, simple explanations, and an abundance of illustrations and photos.
Geographic Information Science and Systems by
Call Number: G 70.212 L658 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
Effective use of today's vast geographic information (GI) resources requires more than just powerful technology for problem solving. It requires science to help us understand the way the world works, and to help us devise effective procedures for making decisions. Three previous editions have established this text as a defining multidisciplinary treatment of the scientific principles that underpin the use of geographic information technologies for problem solving. This extensively revised and updated edition provides a guide to the enduring scientific principles and information systems that support effective use of today's GI. It also provides a primer on essential methods for analysis of GI, and the ways in which effective management of GI informs policy and action.
Lining up Data in ArcGIS by
Call Number: G 70.212 M275 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-15
Data misalignment is one of the biggest issues faced by GIS users. A member of the ESRI support services team, author, Margaret Maher has closed more than 12,000 incidents relating to projections and data conversion. "Lining Up Data in ArcGIS "is a practical guide to solving these problems, based on Maher's decade of experience helping GIS users find resolution. This book presents techniques to identify data projections and create custom projections to align data. Formatted for practical use, each chapter can stand alone, addressing specific issues related to working with coordinate systems." Lining Up Data in ArcGIS: A Guide to Map Projections "is a handbook that will benefit new and skilled GIS users alike.