Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Prof Suwak's Film Guide
Prof Suwak maintains a film guide that lists films for viewing for her classes. Click on link below.
The library has a number of excellent streaming databases. A great place to start your search is with the library catalog. You can search all the library's streaming and DVD holdings in one place. See box below that shows you how to limit your search to only audiovisual materials. You can also search streaming databases directly, the most popular ones are listed below.
Academic Video Online Alexander Street Press's Academic Video Online delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection Includes over 1,500 issues-based documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world.
Feature Films for Education Offers hundreds of classic and recent blockbuster films from 20th Century Fox. The extensive collection includes recent releases like Hidden Figures, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, 12 Years a Slave, and The Revenant, as well as classic films featuring Clark Gable, John Wayne, Rock Hudson, Gregory Peck, and Ava Gardner.
Films on Demand Films on Demand includes over 30,000 streamed videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, The News Hour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Educational, and many more. Create a personal account to save to Playlists or Favorites. Links to individual videos or segments can be emailed or posted in D2L.
Kanopy Streaming Service Provides access to over 26,000 videos from major educational film producers and distributors in a wide variety of subject areas. Collections include the Criterion Collection, PBS, BBC Active, California Newsreel, Green Planet Films, First Run Features, Kino Lorber Edu, Learning Zone Express, Media Education Foundation, Symptom Media, and PsychoTherapy.net.
Swank Digital Campus Swank Digital Campus provides access to course assigned streaming feature films. Films can be shown in classes only, not for public viewings.
To view all the library's streaming video collections view our streaming video guide:
How to limit to an audiovisual only search in the library catalog
To limit your results to the media collection click on Advanced Search:
Then click on Material Type and Select Audio/Visual