Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For pandemic-related information on library services during Spring 2021 go to our COVID 19 guide
Searching for Primary Sources using the Web
Using the Web for finding primary sources. The free web is one of the richest sources of primary source material but it requires the user to carefully evaluate what they find.
Google - some tips
- Type in your topic include the words “primary source”. Example: “sigmund freud” “primary sources”. Also try limiting your results to .edu, .org, OR .gov web sites.
- Search on famous psychologist or movement and add archives: leon festinger archives
- Do a google image search on a famous psychologist and add the term letters: bf skinner letters
Some Recommended Web Sites
Using the Rohrbach Library Catalog
When searching in the Library Catalog do an Boolean search and add the word “sources” to your search. Example:
sigmund freud and sources
Other keywords to try: sources, diaries, personal narratives, interviews, letters
Using WorldCat - the World's Library Catalog
Worldcat.org is like the Amazon.com of the library world. It includes the holdings of over 17,000 libraries all over the world. It is the best place to go to find hard to find books and archival materials.
Using Library Databases
Using Library Databases
Library databases include subscription content that is not freely available on the web.
Some Recommended Databases
Films on Demand Films on Demand includes over 30,000 streamed videos from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, The News Hour with Jim Lehrer, Bill Moyers, Shopware, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Fred Friendly Seminars, Cambridge Educational, and many more. Create a personal account to save to Playlists or Favorites. Links to individual videos or segments can be emailed or posted in D2L.
HarpWeek Electronic access to Harper's Weekly, the illustrated 19th Century Journal of Civilization. It is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America on a cumulative week-to-week basis. Full-text Coverage from 1857-1912.
Life Magazine Archive Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
New York Times, Historical This database offers full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. Coverage 1851 to current with 3-year rolling embargo.
Westlaw Campus Research Best place to go for court cases