DEI: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Resources: Ebooks

All too often, in a hurried attempt to "catch up," diversity training can create division among staff or place undue burdens on a handful of employees. Instead, academic libraries need approaches to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) that position these priorities as ongoing institutional and professional goals. This book's model programs will help academic libraries do exactly that, sharing a variety of initiatives that possess clear goals, demonstrable outcomes, and reproducible strategies. Librarians, administrators, and directors will all benefit from the programs detailed inside, which include such topics as a university library's community of practice for interactions and learning around DEI; cultural competency training to create more welcoming instruction spaces; student workshops on literature searches that mitigate bias; overcoming the historic tendency to marginalize LGBTQ+ representation in archives; a curriculum and design workshop that moved from discussing social values to embedding them in actions; the founding of a library-led LGBT club for students at a rural community college; a liberal arts college's retention-boosting program for first-generation students; tailoring a collection and library services to the unique needs of student veterans; and a framework for moving from diversity to equity and inclusion, toward a goal of social justice.

This book offers five proven principles so multinational companies can advance diversity, equity, and inclusion with a nuanced understanding of local contexts across countries and cultures. It's easy to fall into the trap of using a single-culture worldview when implementing global DEI in organizations. But what makes DEI change efforts successful in one country may have opposite, unintended consequences in another. How do companies find the right balance between anchoring their efforts locally while pushing for change that may disrupt existing power dynamics? This is the question at the heart of global DEI work. Along with practical advice and examples, Rohini Anand offers five overarching principles derived from her own experience leading global DEI transformation and interviews with more than sixty-five leaders to provide a through line for leading global DEI transformation in divergent cultures. Local relevance-understanding markets and acknowledging local beliefs, regulations, and history-is essential for global success. This groundbreaking book explicitly details how to take local histories, laws, and practices into account in DEI transformation work while promoting social justice worldwide.

Make DEI Training Foundational in Your Organization When done well, diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) training creates space for courageous conversations that acknowledge hard truths around systemic inequities and explores topics that touch on people's vulnerabilities in all facets of their lives. For those of you who do this work, there has not been a clear path to follow for making progress. As a DEI trainer, you have forged your own way and learned as you went. With Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for Trainers: Fostering DEI in the Workplace, the need for DEI trainers to go at it alone comes to an end. Expert facilitator Maria Morukian provides the guidance you need to develop the knowledge and skills required for DEI training. Morukian covers the historical underpinnings and rationale for DEI work; takes you through the process of organizational assessment, design, and delivery; and offers strategies for embedding DEI and promoting sustainability through collaborative practices and dialogues, allowing you to develop and understand your own identity lenses and biases. Reflection questions and worksheets are included in every chapter.

This inaugural edited collection for the Communicating Responsible Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion series presents new critical discourse alongside cutting-edge practical work at the crossroads of PR, CSR, and DEI. The collection explores the active promotion of diversity, equity, and inclusion as a public relations responsibility and provides new avenues for critiquing the ways in which power operates through public relations work and theory building. Featuring contributions from leading scholars from across the PR, CSR, and DEI fields, Public Relations for Social Responsibility explores key issues including the legal and economic frameworks thwarting authentic social responsibility and DEI, the unique social responsibility style of women and people of color managing organizations, and expanding the social responsibility critique to include non-human stakeholders and the environment. Chapters illuminate international and industrial contexts at the intersection of PR, CSR and DEI, including historical perspective on DEI roadblocks in the U.S., PR in the time of COVID-19 crises, organizational bullying, DEI, AI and PR ethics, animals as stakeholders, inclusion as CSR component, CEO activism on the African continent, and PR's responsibility in transforming society. The collection will introduce new conceptual and practical approaches highly relevant to scholars of Communication, Management and Corporate Social Responsibility in a global context.

Institutional focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion affects all parts of higher education management. Gender Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Academia: A Conceptual Framework for Sustainable Transformation scrutinises the conceptual framework for diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) actions in academia, to facilitate research-based and critically-reflected decisions in higher education management. The book contains 25 chapters, each focused on one of 25 fundamental concepts that are essential for identifying, understanding, and implementing organizational changes and counteracting unjustified disadvantages faced by women and members of other gender minorities in academia. The book also discusses concepts directed towards solutions, such as affirmative action and feminist pedagogies and overcomes the traditional binary approach on gender by incorporating specific challenges faced by LGBTQ+ and transgender staff and students. Gender Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Academia will be key reading for academics in Gender Studies and Education Studies, while also serving as a vital resource for individual consumers, working in or preparing to enter leadership positions in higher education.

Equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) goals have traditionally been seen as either an effort to be managed by the administration, or as something a faculty member could choose--or not--to focus on. In the twenty-first century, EDI goals are increasingly front and center across disciplines as educators prepare students for success in a diverse world. It is in this milieu, that this book was written. Each chapter in this book is designed for use by instructors and administrators in higher education who believe that the goals of EDI should be integrated into the classroom experience. The chapters are grouped around five central themes that challenge the structure of a traditional classroom in order to promote goals related to EDI: faculty collaboration, creative approaches to faculty and student resistance to EDI goals, institution-wide initiatives, community engagement, and the use of first-person autobiography and storytelling in the classroom.

The Science of Diversity uses a multidisciplinary approach to excavate the theories, principles, and paradigms that illuminate our understanding of the issues surrounding human diversity, social equality, and justice. The book brings these to the surface holistically, examining diversity at the individual, interpersonal, and international levels. Shedding light on why diversity programs fail, the book provides tools to understand how biases develop and influence our relationships and interactions with others.

This book provides an introduction to the role of diversity in complex adaptive systems. A complex system--such as an economy or a tropical ecosystem--consists of interacting adaptive entities that produce dynamic patterns and structures. Diversity plays a different role in a complex system than it does in an equilibrium system, where it often merely produces variation around the mean for performance measures. In complex adaptive systems, diversity makes fundamental contributions to system performance. Scott Page gives a concise primer on how diversity happens, how it is maintained, and how it affects complex systems. He explains how diversity underpins system level robustness, allowing for multiple responses to external shocks and internal adaptations; how it provides the seeds for large events by creating outliers that fuel tipping points; and how it drives novelty and innovation. Page looks at the different kinds of diversity--variations within and across types, and distinct community compositions and interaction structures--and covers the evolution of diversity within complex systems and the factors that determine the amount of maintained diversity within a system. Provides a concise and accessible introduction Shows how diversity underpins robustness and fuels tipping points Covers all types of diversity The essential primer on diversity in complex adaptive systems

In this landmark book, Scott Page redefines the way we understand ourselves in relation to one another. The Difference is about how we think in groups--and how our collective wisdom exceeds the sum of its parts. Why can teams of people find better solutions than brilliant individuals working alone? And why are the best group decisions and predictions those that draw upon the very qualities that make each of us unique? The answers lie in diversity--not what we look like outside, but what we look like within, our distinct tools and abilities. The Difference reveals that progress and innovation may depend less on lone thinkers with enormous IQs than on diverse people working together and capitalizing on their individuality. Page shows how groups that display a range of perspectives outperform groups of like-minded experts. Diversity yields superior outcomes, and Page proves it using his own cutting-edge research. Moving beyond the politics that cloud standard debates about diversity, he explains why difference beats out homogeneity, whether you're talking about citizens in a democracy or scientists in the laboratory. He examines practical ways to apply diversity's logic to a host of problems, and along the way offers fascinating and surprising examples, from the redesign of the Chicago "El" to the truth about where we store our ketchup. Page changes the way we understand diversity--how to harness its untapped potential, how to understand and avoid its traps, and how we can leverage our differences for the benefit of all.

The Inclusion Imperative showcases the inspiring commitment to inclusion the London Olympic and Paralympic Games' organizing committee espoused, and details the techniques and frameworks that enabled it to truly deliver a 'Games for everyone' at London 2012. Diversity and inclusion expert, Stephen Frost, challenges preconceived ideas and strives to inspire professionals to tackle inclusion in their organizations with courage, creativity and talent. With highly relatable examples, The Inclusion Imperative constitutes the best argument to convince sceptics that real diversity and inclusion can deliver more engaged employees and customers, improved employee recruitment and retention, increase productivity and better group decision-making processes. Real inclusion saves money and improves efficiency in the systems of an organisation, making the world a better place as a by-product. Building on concepts that include Diversity 3.0, detailed process journeys, and procurement governance, this is a must-read for HR and diversity officers frustrated with the guidance currently available, as well as for anyone who recognizes the legacy of the 2012 Games in fostering a tolerant and diverse society.

Uses Buddhist philosophy to discuss diversity as a value, one that can contribute to equity in a globalizing world.