Start your Research Here

When you are looking for realiable scholarly peer-reviewed articles, the research databases from the library can provide those articles for you and save you the task of researching the reliability of the author, journal, or organization for each article. All the sources in the library database have been checked for authenticity and veracity through a peer review process before they are put in the database.

Here are some databases that contain qualitative research and/or ethnographic material:

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window AnthroSource, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, and Visual Anthropology Review.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window The ScienceDirect College Edition offers access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles. The library subscribes to three ScienceDirect journal collections: Social and Behavioral Science Journals Collection containing 360 full-text peer reviewed journals, Health & Life Sciences Journals Collection containing 900 full-text peer reviewed journals and Physical Sciences Journals Collection containing 600 full-text peer reviewed journals. Coverage 2001 - Current
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science®, provides users with access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings. Includes essential data from over 1,950 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines, as well as 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage: 1900 - Current

The databases below are all part of the EBSCO interface.

Select Choose Databases to search more than one at a time
They all store to your one EBSCO account

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 11,000 full-text periodicals.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought..
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Coverage 1887 to the present.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Sociology Source Ultimate (formerly SocINDEX) is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database includes 3,278 active indexed and abstracted journals. 3,145 of them are peer-reviewed.

When using a research database...

Search using keywords, not sentences
1. Example: Google search: I need to find scholarly journal articles on gaming culture
2. Research Database: gaming AND culture Then use the filters on the search results to narrow your results to Scholarly Journal Articles.
Control your search with AND, OR, and NOT
A Research database will not correct your spelling errors
Look for a place to register for an account with the database and use it to save your articles
Look for the citation information - Icon with quote marks or the word Cite

Sue Czerny

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

RL 203-A
czerny@kutztown.edu

610-683-4174

Subjects: Biology, English, Environmental Science, Literature, Professional Writing, Public Relations, Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

ENG 265 - Real Life Research - Dr. Lynch-Biniek: Start your Research Here