Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For pandemic-related information on library services during Spring 2021 go to our COVID 19 guide

Database Trials at the Rohrbach Library: Previous Trials

This page highlights electronic databases trials that are on-going at the library.

Previous Trials

Previous Trials - Links do NOT work!

Trial ends 3/23/15

Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO): contains more than 370 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.

America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCO): upgrade offers full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

Applied Science & Technology Source(EBSCO):Upgrade offers full text for almost 1,200 journals

Business Source Complete(EBSCO): is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content.  Also search the enhanced Business Searching Interface

  • Summary of comparison between Business Source Premier (which we currently subscribe to) and Compete

Education Source(EBSCO): Upgrade includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books

Historical Abstracts with Full Text(EBSCO): Upgrade offers full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books

Trial ends 3/31/15, on-campus access only:

Data-Planet - two databases:

Statistical Datasets provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 18.9 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations. The over 3.9 billion time series in Data-Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. Learn more

Statistical Ready Reference: provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference is designed to allow users to quickly navigate the billions of points of data contained in the Data-Planet repository. Learn more

 
On-campus network access only. Trial ends April 23, 2015Film Industry Data is an innovative new way to analyse the film industry. This comprehensive, online research tool brings together a range of data onto a single platform, enabling users to make new connections, discover new insights and unlock a deeper understanding of film as a reflection of culture and society.
 
On-campus network access only. Trial ends April 23, 2015Music Industry Data is an exciting new research tool that links data on music, industry trends and commercial facts. For the first time, changes in taste, business models, and the consumption of the arts by different population demographics can be tracked using trustworthy, accurate information from leading information sources.

Trial ends 2/5/15, on-campus access only:

Electronic Enlightenment (Oxford): "is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century — reconstructing one of the world's great historical conversations."

Trial Ends 12/11/14:

Ambrose Video (Ambrose):  A continually growing collection of 575 videos, all closed captioned, and spanning many subject areas from the BBC Shakespeare Plays to Nature's Microworlds.

Trial Ends 11/21/14

Flipster (EBSCO): Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device. Learn more.‚Äč

Trial ends 12/25/14: on-campus access only:

Demographics Now "is an online subscription resource that provides users with access to robust and highly detailed U.S. demographic data. It is ideal for gaining consumer and market insight when opening a business, finding an untapped audience for products/services, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and so much more. Additionally, the power of DemographicsNow stands out with its reporting capability, which allows users to easily and rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports -- standard and custom -- that will help them make informed and accurate decisions."

Trial ends 12/15/14: on-campus access only:

Statista: Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.

Trial Ends 11/18/14

Ebrary's Academic Complete Ebook Collection (ProQuest): Academic Complete is a multidisciplinary subscription collection that provides a comprehensive foundation of ebooks for students at all levels — from undergrad to post-doctoral research. It now offers a selection of more than 109,000 ebooks, with more than 33 percent published since 2009. Libraries also value the benefits of DASH!™ (Data Sharing, Fast), a unique service that gives libraries the opportunity to upload and integrate their own digital repositories.

Trial Ended 11/14/14: on-campus access only

American History, 1493-1945 (Adam Matthew): This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History. Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.

Trial Ended 11/15/14

World Cinema Video Collection: With more than 380 feature films (view title list - XLS download) from the most renowned directors across the globe, this unique collection includes the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, American and European masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films featured by Global Lens. The collection shines a light on the history of cinema while also providing a glimpse into the cultures and issues of countries around the world, making it useful beyond film studies departments by bringing value to programs in area studies, political science, history, world languages, and more. Complete details.

Trial ends 11/2014 : on-campus access only (librarians provided individual logins)

WestLaw Next Campus Research: Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law. Also includes thousands of news sources arranged geographically and topically, hundreds of newswires as well as business, trade, and professional publications.

Trial ended 10/31/14: on-campus access only

Alexander Street Literature: "This is the literature you don’t have in your library through other online resources—in copyright, contemporary, global, and diverse. Rich in sociological and historical significance, Alexander Street Literature delivers the literatures of place, gender, and race. The package contains more than 600,000 pages of poetry and prose."

Alexander Street Drama: "Brings together thousands of plays from Alexander Street’s six individual full-text drama collections and makes them accessible and cross-searchable in a single, specially priced package. Included is all the content in these individual full-text collections: Black Drama, Asian American Drama, Latino Literature, Twentieth Century North American Drama, North American Indian Drama, and North American Women's Drama—nearly 6,000 in all."

Asian American Drama - http://aadr.alexanderstreet.com
 
Black Drama - http://bld2.alexanderstreet.com
 
Latino Literature - http://lali.alexanderstreet.com
 
North American Indian Drama - http://ind2.alexanderstreet.com
 
North American Theatre Online - http://atho.alexanderstreet.com
 
North American Women's Drama - http://wodr.alexanderstreet.com

Trial ended 10/21/14: on-campus access only:

Statista: Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.

Subject Guide

Bob Flatley's picture
Bob Flatley
Contact:
Library 25A
610-683-4168
Website

World Cimena Collection Title List