Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

Psychology Department - Research and Teaching Support: Staying Up-to-date in Your Discipline

This guides highlights services available from the library to support the research and teaching mission of the Department of Psychology

Introduction

As an academic, you are constantly being bombarded with information every day. Yet most of it is not relevant to your research area. How can you be sure you haven't missed an important article or journal issue?

There are a variety of tools and techniques to help keep you abreast of the latest developments in your field.

If you need any assistance with these services please contact me.

Journal Alert Service

The library offers the IngentaConnect InTouch Alerting Service.  This service allows you to receive alerts from over 29,000 journal titles.  Alerts arrive via email with links to article citations and the full-text (if available). You can receive alerts based on search terms or new issues.  If you would like an account, please contact Karen Colburn at colburn@kutztown.edu or 610-683-4158.

Search Alerts

Many library databases offer a feature called Search Alerts. They allow you to set up searches for topics of interest. The database will run the search periodically at an interval that you specify (e.g. every month) and send you the results to you via email.

This is a great way to stay up to date on all research on a particular topic, including articles published in journals you may not read regularly.

The particular options available for search alerts will depend on the database platform that you are using. Here are links to the search alert help pages for three of our database platforms:

Web of Science
EBSCO Databases
ProQuest Databases (including Disseratations database)