Finding Literary Criticism - ENGL 105 - Dr. Fillman - Rohrbach Library Home at Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Library Databases

Both Literature Criticism Online and Literature Resource Center offer results in multiple formats. The articles are also ranked for beginners to experts, and show the word count.

Literature Criticism Online Literature Criticism Online includes the complete full-image text of 10 of Gale publishing's most popular literary criticism series. These series represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. They include centuries of analysis — the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals — delivered in an easy format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Literary Criticism Online includes hundreds of digitized volumes and more than 200,000 essays extending back 20-30 years. Coverage: 1400 - Current
This database compliments Gale's Literature Resource Center which contains Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revisions, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, as well as criticism. Ten individual Gale series comprise Literature Criticism Online, representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works, across all regions, eras and genres:
- Contemporary Literary Criticism — covers authors currently active or who died after Dec. 31, 1999
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism — covers major authors of 1900-1999
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism — covers major authors of 1800-1899
- Shakespearean Criticism — comprehensive coverage of Shakespeare
- Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 — covers authors of the late-middle ages, the renaissance and the restoration eras
- Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism — covers major classical and medieval authors
- Poetry Criticism — covers poets of all eras
- Short Story Criticism — covers major authors of short fiction
- Drama Criticism — covers major dramatists of all eras
- Children’s Literature Review — covers the most influentialauthors of children’s literature
Literature Resource Center The Literature Resource Center (Gale Literature), a complete literature reference database, possesses an immense collection of biographies, bibliographies, critical essays, work overviews, author-related websites, and timeline events. It contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.

JSTOR and MLA Bibliography are large humanities databases that include literary criticism and biographical material.

JSTOR JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
MLA Bibliography The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, provides access to scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore covering nearly 4,000 journals and series. Updated ten times per year. Coverage 1963 to the present.

EBSCO's Academic Search Ultimate and ProQuest's Research Library are the two largest research databases. They contain information from major journals and outstanding books in all disciplines, so they are a source of literary criticism.

Academic Search Ultimate Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 11,000 full-text periodicals.
Research Library Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology with 2,600 active Research Library sources-- over 1,700 are available in full text. Over 1,600, in full image. Coverage 1971 to the present.

ENGL 105 - Dr. Fillman: Finding Literary Criticism

Library Databases