Rohrbach Library Home: Newspaper Sources: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers Explained

Historical newspapers are scanned copies of old newspapers. This work is most often done by third party vendors who host the content.

Historical Newspapers

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary source database includes newspapers, magazines, county histories, books, pamphlets, and genealogical sources.
Early American Newspapers, Series 1,6,7 This link opens in a new window
Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. It offers fully searchable digital facsimiles of nearly 2,000 titles from all 50 states.
New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. Coverage 1851 to current with 3-year rolling embargo.
Philadelphia Inquirer, Historical This link opens in a new window
The Philadelphia Inquirer, one of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, is known for its coverage of the American Civil War that was popular with readers on both sides; its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. Coverage:1829-2009.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Historical This link opens in a new window
Nearly as old as the United States itself, the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette performed one of its initial acts of public service by printing the newly adopted Constitution of the United States in 1787. Then a four-page weekly produced on a wooden press, Post-Gazette was the first newspaper to make the dangerous journey by wagon over the mountains from Philadelphia. Coverage: 1786-2008.
Wall Street Journal, Historical This link opens in a new window
A unique full-image archive of The Wall Street Journal with complete coverage from 1889-2012. Includes display and classified ads, editorial and commentary.