Evaluating Information: Fake News: Library Resources -

Databases for Magazine and Journal Articles

Use the following to find information on your topic. These databases are curated by professionals and selected by librarians and faculty.  You should evaluate the information you find there, but the information is generally vetted before it's included. Most of the material is from magazines, newspapers, academic journals, and books.

CQ Researcher reports on 50 different social, political, and current issues every year.  If you can find a report on your topic, it is a gateway to a large number of credible sources, all with links to the original articles.

Biography in context from GALE Research contains biographies of famous persons, living and dead.  The biographies can be journal articles, audio, video, newspapers, magainzes and websites.

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO. Almost all the entries in this database have the article attached, which means it is a "full-text" database.  Also, it is part of the EBSCOHost interface, so you can use MY EBSCO to save the citations.  If you don't know about MY EBSCO, you should check it out and set up and account. 

Research Library from Proquest, like Academic Search Complete, is a database that has magazines, newspapers, and journals on all subjects. Proquest uses a difference search algorithm, so always check this one too.

JSTOR is the library's largest resource that has only scholarly articles. It contains hundreds of journals on education and may be a good source of statistics or research you can use to argue your point of view.

More databases at:  http://library.kutztown.edu/az.php

Here is the link to the KU Library's Research Services where you can ask questions via chat, phone, email, or in person:

https://library.kutztown.edu/researchservices