A great place to start to look for databases is the POPULAR DATABASES page.
Under ARTICLES, check out:
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 11,000 full-text periodicals.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology with 2,600 active Research Library sources-- over 1,700 are available in full text. Over 1,600, in full image. Coverage 1971 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.
All of these have scholaraly vetted articles for your to choose from. All three also include large collections of academic-level ebooks. The ebooks are listed also in the BOOKS, EBOOKS and MEDIA index, but all three databases have different search algorithms, so your results will look different in each one.
Some Tips:
-
Searching in the ARTICLES databases is by keyword, so it is based in conversational language rather than the controlled vocabulary in the Books, Ebooks, and Media interface. For example, you can search Storytelling in Video Games, rather than Transmedia Storytelling.
-
Use your most specific search first.
-
These databases will correct spelling errors, just like Google.
