Articles - HIS 015 - Library Research - Rohrbach Library Home at Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Finding Articles

Reference articles - a great place to start!

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of hundreds of full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These works fall under the subjects of Business, History, Law, Medicine, Multicultural studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, Technology, and more. Includes major publishers like Elsevier, Macmillan, Sage, Gale, and Oxford

History Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window Historical index of over 1,200 humanities and social sciences journals from 1907 to 1984.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers full-text journal coverage in the social sciences and humanities. Examples of disciplines covered are: history, economics, Asian studies, classics, archaeology. African, Latin American, Slavic, Middle Eastern studies, the literary cultures of many different countries. The lag time in publication ranges from 3 and 5 years. Updated in an ongoing basis.

Comprehensive Search Tools

Search Everything This link opens in a new window A unified, customized index of Kutztown University’s information resources. Essentially allows the researcher to search almost all of the library's databases with one search.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search the scholarly literature using Google Scholar. The library's link is authenticated so it will connect to any full-text available through the library's e-journal subscriptions.