Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

AST/WGS 16 - Core to the Cosmos: Contributions of Women in Astronomy: Online Resources for Scientific Information and Biographies

This is the guide that accompanies the Scientist Research Project in AST/WGS 16 with Dr. Kraal.

Library Online Databases

Database for Biographies

All of these resources include scholarly, vetted articles and reports. They will not include the "explicitly forbidden references" in your assignment.

 

If your scientist is in this database the main synopsis in this database would be the one Gale reference you are allowed.  The article may be supplemented with non-Gale journal articles, video or websites, all of which are linked, and they can lead you to other resources.

Search your scientists's name and profession, i.e. astronomer, physicist, scientist to look for articles and ebook chapters.

As you can tell from the title, this database might be helpful with the contemporary culture and attitudes your scientist lived with. This is a database of Primary Source materials.

Science Direct has added free temporary access to over 40,000 ebooks from 1896 to the present.  Check for information about. and by your scientist here.

Science Resources

These databases might contain citations and/or journal articles by your scientist:

Journal Resources

These three journals contain many useful articles:

New Scientist

Physics Today

Scientific American

 

Library Resource (catalog, databases, etc)

When using the library catalog, here some important tips when entering people's names.

  • Always enter last name first, and first name last.  For example:  Czerny, Susan
  • When looking for works about a person, you can limit your search to SUBJECT.  This is what you would do if you are looking for a biography.
  • When looking for something your scientist wrote herself, then limit your search to author.