Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

AST/WGS 16 - Core to the Cosmos: Contributions of Women in Astronomy: APA format

This is the guide that accompanies the Scientist Research Project in AST/WGS 16 with Dr. Kraal.

Current edition of the APA format

As of October 2019, the current version of APA format is the 7th edition.  The sources below use that new edition.  

If you are used to APA format, here is a video on the 7 major changes in the new edition.    https://youtu.be/lD5m1Wk1KM8

APA Format

The Purdue OWL is a nationally recognized online guide to APA style. It covers most of the situations you're likely to encounter.  

The OWL also has a YouTube channel on using APA format here:  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8F43A67F38DE3D5D&feature=edit_ok

If you prefer to use a book, Rohrbach Library has the most recent APA style manual under the call number: BF76.7 .P83 2010  


Get in the habit of collecting information about your sources as you use them.  The library's article databases will supply what you need for your citations, and many of the databases have features for formatting and saving citations as well.

Citing your sources is an essential part of your work as a member of a scholarly community.  Whenever you're unsure about the protocol and can't find a satisfactory answer on your own, as the librarian on the new Chat service.

DOIs

Doi : stands for Digital Object Identifier.  APA format used DOIs in place of web addresses in citations. 

Why do I need a DOI?  

A unique DOI is assigned to every published journal article, so you can use it as a search.  If you put the DOI in Omnisearch, one of the library databases, or Google Scholar, it should retrieve the article.

How do I find the DOI for an article?

1) First, the first page of the article may have a DOI.  A DOI is identified as such on the first page; i.e.,

  DOI: 10.1016/j.anireprosci.2006.12.005   

2) DOIs are often included in database records.  Thus, if you are searching a library database like Academic Search Premier or Research Library, if a DOI is assigned to an article, you will find in the database record for that article.

>3) DOIs may also be found in the bibliography of an article – as authors are now using DOIs as a citation tool.  If you have just the DOI, and want to find the actual article (or at least further citation information), you can use a DOI resolver (see http://dx.doi.org/).  

In APA format, Cite Journal Titles and Articles

When citing a source in APA format, make sure you cite the TITLE of the Journal, Newspaper or Magazine in the bibliography. You should not cite the Vendor, in this example, EBSCO, nor should you cite the Database.  The example used here is the database Communication Source.

Click on the link below for more information: