Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

ENG 334 - Introduction to English Linguistics: Citing Sources

Resources for exploring Conlang and dialects

MLA

·       Using MLA Format - Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Purdue University

Comprehensive online guide to MLA style includes parenthetical citations, quotations, a sample paper, and creating a Works Cited page.

·       Sample MLA-formatted paper - Hacker Handbooks (PDF)

APA

·       Using APA Format - Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Purdue University

Comprehensive online guide to APA style includes parenthetical citations, quotations, and creating a works cited page.

·       Sample APA-formatted paper - Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Purdue University

·       American Psychological Association: APA style reference guide

Chicago/Turabian

·       Chicago Manual of Style Online

Licensed resource: off-campus login required. Online edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Includes Chicago Style Q&A, quick guide to citations, and tools for editors.

·       Chicago/Turabian Documentation

Online style manual from the University of Wisconsin - Madison

·       Using the Chicago Manual of Style - Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Purdue University

Explains how to format, showing a sample paper and citation examples.

CSE Format

·       CSE Scientific Style

The Council of Science Editors format is the most common citation format used in the General Sciences. The guidelines presented here are consistent with advice given in Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed. (2006).

·       CSE Quick Guide

CSE Quick Guide from Washington State University Libraries.

Legal

·       Introduction to Basic Legal Citation by Peter W. Martin

A basic overview of legal citation hosted by the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law School.

·       Bluebooking Guide

Gives examples of Bluebook citations for various types of legal materials. Maintained by the New England School of Law.

 

Citation Guides

Use these citation guides to see examples of different citation styles for a variety of source formats.

·       UCLA Library

Outstanding information on how to cite web sites; provides information on fair use and copyright issues.

·       University of Pittsburgh Libraries Citation Styles

Excellent resource with examples from all major source formats in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.

·       Indiana University Bloomington

For government documents; includes numerous examples for both electronic and "tangible" documents, as well as a basic citation format for each.

Citation Builders and Tools

Citation Builders and Tools

Enter your citation information, and these builders will create your bibliography for you in Chicago/Turabian, CSE, MLA or APA citation style. Online citation generators are no substitute for knowing proper style; they process data, so any errors that go into them carry over to the citations they make.

·       BibME

A free automatic citation creator that supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formatting, originally developed at Carnegie Mellon University.

·       21st Century Information Fluency Online Citation Wizards

free tools that generate citations in CSE, MLA, and APA styles from a variety of source formats including online journal articles, electronic books, webpages, and databases. The tools were developed by the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy.

·       EndNote Web

Endnote Web is a Web-based reference management tool that allows you to create a personal database of up to 10,000 references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.

Library Books

Links

Click a link below to do a quick catalog search on the style of your choice to see what books are available at Rohrbach Library:

·       MLA style library catalog search

·       APA style library catalog search

·       Chicago style library catalog search

Some Tips and Getting Help

Getting Help

·       Keep in mind that the purpose of a bibliography is to enable your reader to find the actual sources you used.

·       It's important to remember to note the databases that you use if you are getting articles and books online.  The citation is the same but it includes the database name and access information.

·       Web sites can be tricky - it's important to try to track down who is responsible for the site and when it was last updated.

·       Your instructor is likely to be an excellent source of bibliography information.

·       The reference librarians are experts on citations and bibliographies. Don't hesitate to ask for help. Ask for the research librarian on duty at the Information Desk, near the library entrance. During hours that the Research Desk is staffed, visit or call 610-683-4165 for professional assistance. At other times you can email refquest@kutztown.edu