Holiday Hours
Wednesday 12/25/2024 - Wednesday 1/1/2025 CLOSED
Holiday Hours
Wednesday 12/25/2024 - Wednesday 1/1/2025 CLOSED
The Purdue OWL is a nationally recognized online guide to APA style. It covers most of the situations you're likely to encounter.
You can also use the Citing sources page on Rohrbach Library’s site (linked beneath the Find Information header on the home page) points toward many tools to help with several citation styles as well as labor-saving bibliographic managers.
If you prefer to use a book, Rohrbach Library has the most recent APA style manual in the Reference collection.
Get in the habit of collecting information about your sources as you use them. The library's article databases will supply what you need for your citations, and many of the databases have features for formatting and saving citations as well.
Citing your sources is an essential part of your work as a member of a scholarly community. Whenever you're unsure about the protocol and can't find a satisfactory answer on your own, ask at the Research Help Desk!
Doi : stands for Digital Object Identifier. APA format used DOIs in place of web addresses in citations.
How do I find the DOI for an article?
1) First, the first page of the article may have a DOI. A DOI is identified as such on the first page; i.e.,
DOI: 10.1016/j.anireprosci.2006.12.005
2) DOIs are often included in database records. Thus, if you are searching a library database like Academic Search Premier or Research Library, if a DOI is assigned to an article, you will find in the database record for that article.
>3) DOIs may also be found in the bibliography of an article – as authors are now using DOIs as a citation tool. If you find a DOI in a bibliography and want to find the actual article (or at least further citation information), you need to use a DOI resolver (see http://dx.doi.org/).
An excellent video from Smart Student on how to format your APA Reference List. Smart Student has other videos on aspects of APA formatting.
When citing a source in APA format, make sure you cite the TITLE of the Journal, Newspaper or Magazine in the bibliography. You should not cite the Vendor, in this example, EBSCO, nor should you cite the Database, such as Communication and Mass Media Complete.
Click on the link below for more information:
