Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

For information on library services during Fall 2020 go to our COVID 19 guide

WRI207: Writing for the Workplace: Researching Companies

Research resources for WRI 207

Business Databases

Business Source Complete
Business Source Premier provides more than 2,800 full text scholarly publications, including nearly 900 peer-reviewed journals, all related to business

Newspaper Source
Search for newspaper articles from the US and world here.  Contains many smaller newspapers in addition to major publications.

LexisNexis Academic
Use the Get Business Info search or the News search

Marketline (formerly Datamonitor) Company Profiles
The Datamonitor Company Profile Reports provide a wealth of information, including a company overview, business description, key employees, company history, products & services analysis, SWOT analysis, current news, etc.

International Directory of Company Histories (Gale)

Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns - Volume 2 (Gale)

Looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present-day advertising.

Hoover's Company Profiles

Hoover's company profiles include information on public and private companies in the US and worldwide. Each Profile provides: a thumbnail description, company history, officers names, address, telephone, fax numbers, and web URL, the company's products, services, and brand names, divisions, subsidiaries, and joint ventures, the company's chief competitors, and financial data (going back as far as ten years).

Mergent Online

Mergent Online contains information for 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges and 20,000 non-U.S. companies. The database also includes an annual report collection for more than 40, 000 U.S. companies. Industry reports available here.

Wall Street Journal